We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many thanks Andrew!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed December 27, 2013

location can't be beaten. Andrew at reception could have not been more helpful or friendly, even though obviously extremely busy, he seemed to always be there and really helped to make our stay most enjoyable. Would certainly return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyblacktea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,564 - 2,570 of 3,986 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Just next to the train station. Also close to lots of restaurants and shops. Also within walking distance to Queen Street Station.

The room we had was big. It was on the 4th floor and overlook the roof of the train station. We are quite worried that it would be noisy, but surprising, it was quiet and we couldn't hear any sounds from the station. The bathroom was also quite big.

Service is good. We had some problems with the heating system and they immediately came to our room and brought along a portable heater just in case. Turns out there was nothing wrong with our heater. We just didn't know how to operate it. LOL!!

Only issue I had was that there was no fridge in the room and when we called to ask for some ice, we were told it would cost us £5. That I thought was daylight robbery.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibraGalSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great hotel, excellent location & friendly staff. Stayed here Xmas eve, excellent service, excellent room & lovely breakfast in am. Staff couldn't do enough for us. Lovely wee touch in am with Christmas stocking with goodies inside. Will definitely be visiting again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pauleen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I lived in Glasgow for 7 years and booked this hotel because of the great location. Unfortunately the location was let down by the poor service and faulty heating. There are lots of good points about the hotel but there are also a few staff members that need to realise they are in the service industry. Great bar and breakfast but disappointed that no gym and that they charge you six pounds to use the local LA Fitness,poor for 4 star hotel. I will try the hotel again to see if the flaws are just due to christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gbsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central.

I am disappointed to hear about the challenges you faced while staying with us. A member of our Guest Relations team will be in contact to discuss your issues further.

Kind Regards

Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited Glasgow a couple of days before Christmas for a concert at the Hydro. We chose the hotel as the location seemed good and as it was close to Christmas we chose to stay in a nice looking hotel. We weren't disappointed! We had an early flight and arrived at the hotel by 9.30am. The links from the airport to the hotel were excellent and the welcome by the reception and concierge staff were second to none. As it was so early our room wasn't available which we would expect from any hotel. The concierge took our bags and securely stored them away, we were given a really good map of the city and was given directions and recommendations of excellent cafes for breakfast. We were telephoned as soon as our room became available.

The hotel is at the front of the Grand Central station with a good link to the hydro via the underline service and cost @ £3.00 for 2 adults and 1 child (although children travel free on their public transport). The station is beautiful and reminded us slightly of Hogwarts with the wood and tiled floors.

It is in the centre of the centre and excellently placed for shopping with Buchanan Street being 2 streets away. Restaurants are close by as are small cafes.

We visited Edinburgh on one day of our trip and caught the train from the Queen Street station as the trip is 45 mins compared to 1hr 15mins from Central Station. But again the staff in the stations are really friendly and helpful and will advise you of the best option of travel for you.

We paid £175 for 2 nights B&B but it was worth the money. The rooms were spotless, we had a double room with a put up bed for my son and I have to say his bed was as comfortable as ours at home. The breakfast was plentiful and had lots of options even for the fussiest of eaters. There were some noise during the night from the Christmas parties downstairs but not enough to bother us.

I would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to visit the city again and will definitely be stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Having seen quite a few bad reviews, I was hesitant to book it. As per advice, I asked for high floor and quiet rooms. Perhaps it was a low season and we were indeed given two rooms on the fourth. One overlooking the roof of the train station and another across the street. The rooms were large (compared to those in London ) . The decor were stately and when asked, the hotel staff gave us a history. The breakfast place was grand. Most importantly, the hotel is just beside the train station entrance which means we could visit other places and came back very late. It was very safe. One of the best hotel I had stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaymanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the city.

At the Grand Central we try to deliver sensational service is a spectacular setting, and I am proud to see that we are delivering to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, have a happy new year.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel is situated right next door to Glasgow central station and well situated both for the business visitor and Glasgow main shopping area. On entering the lobby you are immediately struck by the quality of the public areas harking back to a bygone age. The en-suite bedroom was spacious and clean. As it faced out onto Gordon Street the one drawback was the level of street noise late at night particularly from the taxi rank. The dining room again was full of character with a wide selection of options. The pork loin was well presented and delicious. Breakfast was the usual buffet mixture of continental and full English. The hotel is also home to Glasgow's premier champagne bar which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Get a room which doesn't face onto Gordon st if you can. If you're arriving at Glasgow Airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are making any bookings in the future, please contact our Reservations Team direct on +44(0)141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,046 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,830 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $103 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing