We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

To begin with, I trusted Trip Advisor and booked an outside-facing room and was not disappointed. The room was well-appointed and roomy, as was the bathroom. The staff was exceptional, working very hard to please and always with a ready smile. You cannot beat the location for access to the train station and to the shopping district, less than a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane48_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding our hard working team. Nothing is too much trouble for our guests and we aim to provide excellent customer service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Please call our Reservations Team on +44(0)141 240 3733 to receive our Best Available Rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    1,361
    584
    220
    144
See reviews for
429
1,770
179
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
port seton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

after arriving in Glasgow on a cold wet day we found our room had no heating at 5.30pm I contacted services to be told an engineer was on his way at 7.00pm I went to reception to see what was the problem this then descended into farce the following three excuses were given (1) heating only on between 5.00 and 7.00pm they must have forgot I phoned down from my room (2)no heating in that part of the building.(3) eco friendly hotel ? the solution was to move us to another cold room with no heating but they would supply us with a portable heater.. for the price £119 I can think of better places to spend my money

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, I believe that you have made contact with PH Hotels directly once your feedback has been investigated we will respond directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago just for 2 nights. The location (as the name suggests) is very central and handy for transport. The rooms were very small but comfortable enough. The staff were very helpful and didn't even charge us for the extra bed, overall quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and kind words, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited the Hotel for the second time since it had been refurbished. On our first visit shortly after it re-opened we were very impressed as the Hotel was beautiful. However on this occasion the Hotel appears to looking a bit shabby. The first room we were given looked spotlessly clean but there was a terrible smell in the bathroom. It seemed to be coming off of the shower curtain and we noticed the sealant around the bath badly needed replaced as it was black with mould. Also the bathroom ceiling had flaking paint and water stains so may well have been flooded at some point from the room above. My husband went to reception and we were moved to another room which also had an unpleasant odour in the bathroom though not as bad as the first room, not wanting to complain again we decided to stay put.
The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was nice although we were on a B&B package, if we had to pay for breakfast it was definitely not worth the money they charge which seemed to be £16.95 per person. There are better Hotels in Glasgow with a spa etc. for the same money so it's unlikely we would visit the grand Central again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that your recent stay was not as memorable as your first, I appreciate your feedback and our Executive Head Housekeeper will be attending to the points that you have raised in the bedroom. I am pleased that we were able to recover the situation to your satisfaction. Do let me know when you are planning to return, it would be lovely to meet with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here overnight on business. A lovely 19th Century building pleasantly refurbished. Reception had lost my booking when I arrived late at night - but, a few nervous minutes later, they had found it OK. Well furnished and big rooms. Breakfast excellent ! Ideally located right in the station itself.
One possible downside? Electric heaters in the rooms and corridors suggests it might be cold in the winter months?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilerkevin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so pleased that you had a fantastic stay and I hope we have the pleasure of having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is located right next to the train station...some of the rooms even have views into the station. A short 5 minute walk takes you to the main shopping street and lots of great restaurants.

The staff was friendly and helpful....please note, the rooms are pretty small (maybe it was just mine).

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisualGirl949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Grand Central. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I enjoyed my recent stay at the Grand Central, largely because of the welcome and courtesy shown on my arrival. The Receptionist was busy, but took time with all visitors. She also upgraded my room to a double from a single so that I could have early access to it. Her manner was excellent and getting early access made such a difference to my visit. The hotel itself is lovely (I have stayed there occasionally since it was remodelled) and being so close to the station (in it!) means that there is some noise, but for me travelling to and from England via Central Station, the convenience made up for the very slight train noise. It was also useful for leaving my luggage there after check-out to attend a meeting outside Glasgow. All staff were polite and clearly well trained in hotel service and courtesy.

Room Tip: Rooms on opposite side to the railway station are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing with the Tripadvisor Community how fantastic your most recent stay was at The Grand Central. I am delighted that the team looked after you so well. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,299 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,133 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#17 of 93 in Glasgow
1,771 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing