We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city break hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Havant
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great city break hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ideally situated for visiting all Glasgow's main attractions this elegant hotel has wide, deeply carpeted quiet corridors leading to spotless, spacious rooms. Breakfast, served in the Tempus restaurant, could be Continental or 'full Scottish' either way there was a large selection of both hot and cold food to choose from. To avoid much getting up and down during your meal I would recommend getting all your food at your first visit to the buffet, the waitress was happy to bring me a pot of tea which saved a refilling trip to the buffet for each cup.The reception and restaurant staff were polite, helpful and all greeted us with a smile. If we visit Glasgow again we would definitely choose the Grand Central Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue24lrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you will choose us the next time you visit Glasgow.
Our best available rates can be booked by calling our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    1,359
    584
    220
    143
See reviews for
428
1,769
179
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked an overnight deal with 5pm.com which included breakfast and dinner in the Tempus restaurant.On arrival we had a lovely welcome from Gordon the concierge....very friendly and helpful.Room was spacious,spotless and lovely housecoats,slippers,chocs and wine awaited us.
The two course dinner in the Tempus was fab...although we had a bit of a wait.On mentioning to the comm manager, he apologised with a lovely round of bubbly on the house.I can't fault the stay and will be back.Many thanks Janette Hill

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It was fantastic to read you had a great birthday and enjoyed your time here at the Grand Central Hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon!

For your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact our in-house Reservation Team on 0141 240 3730 to receive our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Planned on staying here for one night only and enjoyed it so much decided to extend the stay, that should be a great compliment, turns out i might have been a bit too eager.
having attended a concert the night before id stayed in town and had nothing but good things to tell the wife, she decided she'd join me and we'd make a long weekend of it.
having ventured down to the bar for what we thought should have been a good few drinks, we were met with a very un-atmospheric although lovely looking bar, tried in vain to get the barmans attention, waited and then waited some more, to say this guy looked uninterested was an understatement. He made us a couple of cocktails that if im honest were nothing special, and not at that asking price, but the one thing that made us head to another city centre was the total lack of interaction from the two staff just milling around.
Other than that, its a great hotel, with a great restaurant, shame about the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and i stayed at The Grand Central for 4 nights in August 2013 - we were impressed - the refurbishment has been carried out to a very high standard. The staff made us very welcome and the Concierge service was excellent in helping us get directions to some of the best attractions around the city. The hotel is superbly situated, conveniently right on the station and slap bang in the City Centre. We did experience some noise from the station during the night but, although our room overlooked the station this was not a problem. The only adverse comment we have to make about the hotel structurally is that the windows are very old and should really be replaced (the cost would be horrendous, so we can understand why Principal Hayley have not taken this step).

We ate in the restaurant one night - food was delicious and very reasonably priced. All in all the perfect placve to stay if you want to see the sights of central Glasgow!

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior twin - you get a huge room - ours had a walk-in shower as well as a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel and showing your appreciation of our recent refurbishment. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night august 18th.really luxurious hotel.really large and long corridors..went round Glasgow town centre for drinks,hotel was really central.had 2 course meal in restaurant,was beautiful.breakfast was fantastic would definitely stay again...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ordie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and our location was perfectly convenient for your night out. Your kind comments regarding dinner and breakfast will be passed onto our Restaurant Team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon. Our best available rates are available by calling our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Although it sits next to the central station, it feels like an oasis.
Stuff were very cordial, helping and friendly.
It is located in the center and therefore easily to walk every where.
Parking was good in the next corner and half priced as for the hotel token.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANIELLA107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on the Grand Central hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
If are planning on visiting Glasgow again then please do not hesitate to contact our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3730 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Central for a couple of nights in August. Our room was very nice, clean, quiet, and a good size with lovely furnishings. I loved that it was attached to the train station making it conveniently located. Breakfast was included and had a nice variety of choices. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The only negative I would say is that our room had no view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaveOmaWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. It was great to read your positive comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Dependant on availability, we are always happy to re allocate a room if a guest is not satisfied with their view so please accept our apologies if this was not made available to you.
If are planning on visiting Glasgow again then please do not hesitate to contact our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3730 for our best available rates.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,667 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing