We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Short break with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Central in Glasgow and all in all we had lovely stay. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, meals were very good and our room was lovely. I did specifically ask for room 327 as this I was told was a quiet room away from the hustle and bustle of the station which, some of the rooms looked onto and you could hear the train announcements. The corridors in the hotel were endless and seemed to go on for miles, so room 327 was a good choice as it was quiet and near the lift.

I would definitely go back there as it was so central to everything, so all in all a really good time was had.

Room Tip: As I have said in my post our room 327 was very good, but it seems that rooms with odd numbers were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMannering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,460
    1,262
    551
    204
    131
See reviews for
380
1,641
161
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband Peter and myself stayed here for 2 nights on the first leg of our tour of Scotland. I've listed the positives and negatives below:

Positives: Great location, within walking distance to loads of pubs, restaurants and shops. Very friendly staff and easy check-in. The room itself was spacious and comfortable. I had read on TA that the hotel could be noisy, so had asked for a quiet room. We were given one on the 2nd floor, far from the lifts.

Negatives: The hotel actually forms part of the railway station, so there are constant announcements throughout the day. Having arrived from South Africa, we were very tired after a very long flight. The only way we could rest was to close all the windows, to try and shut out the noise, but then had no ventilation or air. The hotel also seems to host a lot of weddings and the noise levels of the band, music and guests returning to their rooms in the early hours (slamming their doors) kept us awake most of the night.

All in all, it wasn't a bad hotel, but if you are looking for peace and quiet, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on the Grand Central Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and our central location. However it was disappointing that your stay was disrupted by both external and internal noise.

Due to our historic nature, we have been limited with the alterations we can make to the building. If any guest is dissatisfied with their room allocation, the Front of House Team will do their very best to offer an alternative room.

If you are ever returning the city, we would relish the opportunity to show you a better night's sleep. Our best available rates are available by calling our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a lovely weekend in Glasgow, hotel is so central, staff friendly. Only two small lifts which make for a long walk at times when it is busy.
Went to Champagne central bar before going out on the saturday, very busy, long wait at bar for service. Hotel seems to be popular wedding venue, has busy spells due to this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EireEdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel. It was great to see that you had a lovely weekend and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

If you are planning a visit in the future then please don't hesitate to contact our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlehampton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is brilliant with access right off the railway station concourse (Glasgow Central). It is right in the middle of the city with easy access to buses and Queen Street Station for trains further north and plenty of bars and restaurants close by. Other good points were a good standard of service (mainly) and very good food. The room was large but only had a shower which was equipped for wheelchair use although we did not need this and had not requested it. Maybe we were expecting too much based on the recent £20m refurbishment, but this hotel was oh so gloomy! Dark colours throughout, subdued lighting and dirty windows overlooking the station. The atmosphere was depressing and claustrophobic. There were few additional facilities; no pool or fitness suite, no lounge, just a few seats in reception and only a small bar just off the dining room serving expensive drinks. Lifts were very slow and I thought must have been very old but in fact were dated 2010. Overall the hotel felt like one in need of a refurbishment rather than one which had just been updated. Next time Grand Central, get a good interior designer and lighten up a bit. You might then be worth your four stars.

Room Tip: You have the railway station on one side and the main road on the other but neither is a major probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

staff unaware or ignorant of event, massive noise, Friday or Saturday but on a Monday night? For businesses or when you need to sleep you should avoid this hotel. I guess profit from big events come before wellbeing and comfort of overnight guests. Nice rooms etc not much good if kept awake.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ictravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent visit. I am extremely disappointed to see that you did not get a good nights sleep. Our priority is the comfort and wellbeing of all our guests and I am very sorry that you did not experience this.

The Guest Relations Manager will personally contact you to discuss this further.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked Grand Central through Olotels and when we presented the voucher we were told our reservation had been cancelled. Hotel duty manager Sandy told us Olotels had tried to book several rooms that morning, including ours. We had booked the room 10 days before. We were told the hotel was fully booked (on a Tuesday night) and there was no room for us. Instead, they had found us a room in the Park Inn several blocks away. We were offered a free drink at the Grand Central and a taxi...both offers were declined. We arrived at the Park Inn, a characterless newly opened hotel, to find we had been allocated a disabled adapted room with a sink about 2 feet off the bathroom floor -- my back's still suffering from brushing my teeth. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Book direct if you actually would like to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. I am dissaponted to read that your stay was let down due to the hotel being full. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. I would definitely recommend booking direct with us for any future stays, this can be done via our in-house reservations team on 0141 240 3733.


Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We fancied a weekend away in glasgow and decided to book the Grand Central as its the best situated hotel in Glasgow if you want to be near all the good bars and restaturants.

Check in was quick and straight forward but my only gripe is that there is no parking and we had to park in a NCP car park which as far as I am corncerned they are a bunch of crooks, any way on getting our key we made our way to our room and the rooms are fine and a good size but a bit warm.

spent some time in the busy bar which done the job, and we later hit the town, the following morning we had a excellent breakfast and heaeded back to EK feeling a bit tired.

So if you want a decent hotel near all the pubs, clubs and shopping then you will not go far wrong here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steviebhoy1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent fedback on your stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had a great night out and enjoyed your stay. We work with two carparks in the city which are a short walk from the hotel where we offer discount to all guests. I am hoping you were able to take advantage of this.

Thanks again for your feedback and if you are ever planning on another stay then please contact our in-house reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing