We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Grand Central. Very convenient location since we came off the train. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the rooms and nice décor with comfortable beds and flat screen TVs. Only thing we were missing was a frig in room and access to ice machine without having to get staff to bring. Highly recommend this hotel though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

The team are all very pleased that your enjoyed your visit and do hope to welcome you again in the not too distance future.

Your feedback on room amenities is greatly appreciated and will be taken into consideration during our next Rooms Division Meeting.

If you are planning a visit to Glasgow soon, please contact our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733, for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,002 - 3,008 of 4,134 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Every single member of staff that we came across in the hotel were exceptionally kind, polite and professional.
The decor of the hotel and rooms were beautiful without being over the top.
The overall quality of the hotel as a whole was the icing on the cake for our overnight stay.
I dont normally comment on here, however i was so immpressed that I just had to!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivienne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Grand Central experience with the world!

It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our team to be professional and polite. Your kind words will be communicated to each of our Heads of Department, who will be very proud to read your comments.

If you are planning a future stay at the hotel, please call our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Location too good. Just adjacent to the railway station. Reception is not so good communicatio wise. We missed the dinner time due to the miss communication.
Rooms are very big and specious.
Breakfast was good. Stayed there for a single night. Toilet is very specious. Bathtub is awesome.
But hot water regulation is not so fine tuned for the bathtub.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sankar_Banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Grand Central is a great hotel for exploring Glasgow. The room was large and clean and the service was excellent. We wandered around center city and took a subway to the West End which is lovely. We didn't eat in the restaurant but there were excellent ones nearby.

Room Tip: Room 223 is really big. The bathroom was spacious too!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath_irving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Grand Central Hotel!

The team were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that Room 223 was to your liking.
We hope to welcome you again soon!

If you are planning another trip to Glasgow, please call our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Central as part of a 10 day tour of Scotland for three nights from May 21st, we got off of our coach and the party of 15 went to reception.

Reception was very poor for a 4* hotel. No one to say where room was or how to get there. No one explained where bar or restaurants were.

The hotel is a mixture of old style modernised to cater for conferences.

Some this may have been the fault of our tour guide, a former ballerina.
Porters were good and luggage got to room very quickly.

My wife has food allergies and it was difficult to sort out a menu that would suit her, having thought that we had, when we arrived at dinner we discovered our meal had not been ordered in advance and we had to start all over again with the waiters. We have to say the waiters saved the day.

Hotel room very good but faced out onto the concourse of Glasgow Central Station with an annoying tannoy system announcing trains to London etc from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Food and service were reasonable.


Overall not a bad few days.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the station tannoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_belam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to our hotel.

It was disappointing to read that you were not satisfied with our check-in procedure;
The Front of House Team will normally pre-register groups of ten or more persons before their arrival. This alternative method to check-in does result in less one-to-one interaction with our Reception Team, however guests are able to access their room in a more timely manner.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated on this matter and will be forwarded to our Front of House Manager.

It was also disappointing to note that our menu selection did not cater for your partner's dietery requirements. Tour groups are normally provided with menus before they arrive at the hotel, so that challenges can be easily overcome in advance. However it was wonderful to hear that our waiting staff managed to 'save the day'.

We do hope to welcome you again soon.
If you are planning a future visit to the city, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my second stay here and I was,once again impressed with it.Despite being a very busy hotel the staff a very attentive and efficient.The bedrooms are very comfortable and well insulated from outside noise.Breakfast was good but I thought that the restaurant menu was rather overpriced.If you want a centrally situated hotel then this one has much to commend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sloncek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Grand Central Hotel in Glasgow!

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your second visit through our doors and that the team were attentive throughout. We do hope that we can welcome you back soon!

If you are planning a future visit to the to Glasgow, please call our in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Myself and my Partner stayed here at the end of March, after a slow check in as our room wasnt ready and we were given tokens to receive a free glass of champagne in the bar whilst we wait. When we eventually got to our room we were really impressed by the size of the room and its beautiful decor. Modern with an old school twist.

The only downfall that the room was freezing cold... I appreciate that due to the age of the building and for the authenticity they have choosen to keep the sash windows.

I reported this to reception who advised there would be a small electric heater in the wardrobe. When I returned to the room we found that there wasnt one there. After another call to reception they promised someone would come and fix the issue for us (when we returned after a night out the heating issue has been resolved and the room was lovely and warm)

We went back to the bar 'Champagne Central before our night out. Good priced cocktails for the quality of alcohol and I would defo recommend a cheeky shot of Absinthe :)

Unfortunately we didnt make it down for breakfast but I would recommend this hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadealexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Grand Central Hotel.

It was disappointing that your room was not available to you at point of check-in, however wonderful to read that our Front of House Team provided you with a round of drinks as an apology.

Your comments on our heating are greatly appreciated and have been communicated to our Maintenance Manager.

We do hope we can welcome you again soon.
If you are planning a future visit to the city, please do do hesitate to contact on in-house Reservations Team on 0141 240 3733.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,538 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $92 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing