We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard of accomodation, beautiful decor, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good standard of accomodation, beautiful decor, central location”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night recently with a friend.
On arrival we were met by a lovely gentleman at the door, i was immediately impressed with the decor in the foyer, very nicely done without spoiling a traditional old building.
There was only 1 person on reception and we had to wait almost 10 mins to be seen, a little annoying but nothing much to complain about. Our room was on the 4th floor far along the corridor, wouldnt say its the biggest room ive stayed in but it was fine for 1 night.
Decor was lovely and the room had everything you would expect.
We had a late evening drink in the champagne bar which was nice but pricey as you would expect. We never ate in the hotel so unable to comment.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Grand Central on your recent visit to Glasgow.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall with us, despite the delay on initially arriving into the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back, to the hotel, on your next visit to city.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    1,320
    569
    213
    139
See reviews for
413
1,712
174
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (918)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I hosted an annual awards ceremony at the Grand Central Hotel, and it proved to be the perfect venue for this type of event - the dinner was delicious, the room set out impressive, and the staff did everything they could to make the event go like clockwork. I also stayed at the hotel, and my room was ideal - well appointed, with everything you would need. No complaints from this visitor at all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainegibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the hotel, and we are delighted that you were able to experience the level of service on which we pride ourselves.

We have some amazing staff members working for us, and it is always nice to read such kind words about them!

We look forward to welcoming you back, next year, to organise your next annual awards ceremony at The Grand Central.

Kind regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed in this hotel for 1 night for work. Great location (direct access from train station), lovely old building, nice room and friendly staff. Just a few things let it down:

- noise. As it's an old building there's not much sound proofing to the windows and you can hear a lot of road noise. I didn't get a great nights sleep and i'm not a particularly light sleeper. They probably can't do much about this but something to be aware of.

- food. I arrived late and was travelling alone so ordered room service. Given the general prices it seemed a good deal - either fish & chips or curry, your choice of dessert and a drink for £20, with no tray charge added (usually £5). But fish was very disappointing, really soggy batter and only luke warm (i get better from the local chip shop!). It took a while to come too so felt like it had been half way round the hotel before it had got to me. If I had paid the normal price for that (£14) and work weren't paying I'd have complained. Not good enough for a 4* hotel.

- cleanliness. Although generally clean there were quite a few dirty marks on the room wall and my bath towel had what looked like an old blood stain on it (thankfully there was a spare one in the cupboard to use!)

All in all nice hotel but you could get the same standard in a nice 3*, doesn't quite live up to what i'd expect from a 4* hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Central Hotel.

It was disappointing to note that you were not entirely satisfied with your visit.
The comments you have made regarding room service and housekeeping will be highlighted to the relevant departments as a matter of urgency.

If you are ever planning a future visit to Glasgow, do not hesitate to contact the reservations team on 0141 240 3730 for the best available rate.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My Husband and I Stayed at this hotel overnight with a itison deal and it was so lovely. Our room was very large and nicely decorated with a Super King size bed and all the mod cons including bathrobe and slippers. and flat screen TV. Our deal included glasses of Champagne
in the Champagne bar and this has big comfy couches with real cushions for maximum confort. Although the drinks are pricey the ambience and decor of the place makes it a lovely place to be. The breakfast was all it should have been and as much tea and coffee as was needed. This hotel has been visited by many famous people and there is a book to buy which covers all the history. The location is perfect for shopping or going on a sightseeing trip. In George Square there is the open top bus running every half hour to take you a two hour trip round all the sights and the guide is very knowledgeable and funny too. The cost is £12.00 each for a two day ticket and you can hop off and on at designated stops. We had a lovely time in the hotel and I would recommend this for anyone wanting a place that is located near to all the attractions.

Room Tip: our room was 232 which did not have much of a view but it is the city centre after all. We did have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romacaldwell9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to The Grand Central with the world.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality that we have to offer our guests, and repeating the experience on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned from a night at the Grand Central Hotel. This was a gift from our daughter for our 40th Wedding Anniversary.
The room was excellent in every way, and I would definitely stay at the hotel again. What I would not do is eat in the Tempus Restaurant. As we were staying at the Grand Central on a deal, which included a two course meal we expected the choice to be from the full menu. We were presented with (in our opinion) a very restricted choice of food. We were also advised that the fish and chips was finished (at 19.15) and the least expensive red wine (at £22.50) was also finished. The next bottle was £27.00.
Both our starters and main meals were very average, my chicken was dry and the skin was extremely crisp. My wife's fish was cold. We should have complained, but we were there for a night away, and didn't want the hassle of complaining.
As I've already said, I would stay at the hotel again, but will most definitely be eating out.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and overlooking the Gordon Street (not a room overlooking Central Station).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnREdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Grand Central.

We would have loved the opportunity to address the points, you raise in your review, on the evening. We welcome all feedback as this is how we learn and grow.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, on your next visit to Glasgow.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked here as a present for my best friend. Room was spotless and luxurious. The hotel was in the perfect location for getting out and about in Glasgow.Breakfast was nice. Enjoyed the stay and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with the TripAdvisor community.

We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORFAR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ver poor standard I was expecting a lot more from this hotel and it is very poor when you consider the other hotels in the city
The staff were ignorant and very unhelpful especially in the bar and the maids cleaning your room
Would definitely take this hotel off my list
The only good thing was the size of room but then we had to book an exclusive room to get the standard required

Room Tip: The best answer would be get another hotel but if you want to stay you have to get exclusive or bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEWForfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review.

Our most sincere apologies that you did not experience our award winning service.
Your concerns are noted and will be immediately addressed.

We are happy to hear that our central location and our comfortable Executive bedroom helped enjoy your stay, overall.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,620 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing