We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy overlooking the street” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
593 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Noisy overlooking the street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I like railway hotels they always seem to have a little style. This one is brilliantly situated a stones throw from the platforms and the city centre sleep disturbed by traffic and noisy idiots outside but an inward room should do the trick good breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our location. Indeed, we are placed within Glasgow Central Station and can immediately walk from the concourse and into our lobby.

The hotel has many different views offering inside or above the station or indeed out into the bustling city of Glasgow.
On your next visit contact reservations or our reception teams who can allocate a room depending on your requests.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    1,264
    553
    207
    131
See reviews for
381
1,644
163
626
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in a great location. The champagne bar overlooking the rail station concourse is really really nice, it gets busy with the 'afterwork' club but that adds to its atmosphere. The rooms are also really nice. You can also get some good deals to stay here by booking late and searching around booking sites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again at The Grand Central.
We appreciate your loyalty and for choosing to stay with us when travelling to Glasgow.

In securing the best accommodation deals, contact our reservations department directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel several times when we are going to Glasgow for a concert or show. The rooms are of good size with high quality amenities and full of character. The breakfast is excellent but only really worth it when it's included as part of a deal as there are other nearby places that are pretty decent. It's city centre location is fantastic; especially if your travelling from Glasgow Central Station. The Champagne Bar is a great spot for people watching (if you get a window seat) or for relaxing in the extremely comfortable lounge area with its sofas and big chairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review of The Grand Central Hotel.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and our iconic Champagne Central.
Our location is central for shopping, leisure or indeed a trip to the concert.

We are looking forward to repeating your experience on your next visit with us.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrew
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked an overnight surprise for my husbands birthday through itison. I upgraded to a suite so all in it was £145 and you got some nice chocolates and a bottle of wine and a glass of champagne each in the champagne bar. The room was an executive family room and it was massive as was the bed. The reception staff were friendly and so were the bar staff later on. We had a comfortable sleep and breakfast the next day was a buffet and a great selection and plenty there. It also had a fresh pancake maker but we were a bit too hungover too fully enjoy it!only negatives is no parking as its right in the centre and the closest car park is not cheap overnight and it was also a bit noisy as the rooms are at the main road side but all in all had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Maybe ask if there is one not at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gils78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your lovely comments will be passed onto the teams as recognition of what they do best.

Our central location provides a multitude of traveling options to us, including rail, airport shuttle bus, national bus service or indeed using your car. We work closely with a car park provider and a discount can be arranged when you speak with reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, very soon.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We chose this hotel through Late Rooms to have a bit more luxury since we were only in Glasgow for a brief stay and mainly for its central location so we would not need to get further buses or taxis on our arrival. Staff at the reception were very friendly and welcoming and the procedure for signing in and getting room keys was done speedily and efficiently. We were directed to the concierge over the other side of the reception who was able to give us a map of the city and advise where to get the tour buses and gave us a small discount off each ticket. Once on the second floor you could appreciate the vast size of the hotel by looking along the corridors and it wasn't until later that we realised that the Champagne bar really did overlook the main railway concourse and there was a door from the far side of Reception straight there to enable speedy access to trains on our return to the NE. Corridor carpets were thick and plush and thus minimised any footfall noise. The room overlooked the main street on floor two but once the double glazing was shut little street noise disturbed us and you would have no idea of being on top of a main station. We could hear nothing of rooms either side or people in the corridors. Furniture is dark but of good quality and the room was clean. I liked the desk area. Also, another winged comfy chair that actually fitted under the glass-topped round table so it was easy to sit and write. There was a good sized TV plus all the usual irons, boards, hair drier and little touches like laundry plastic bag in the wardrobe. The bathroom was clean with quality thick towels and Parisian shower gels etc. The shower was fantastic..loads of really hot water at any time of the day. The bath (no taps as such) filled up quickly from a stainless steel fitment that I had thought was the overflow! The heated mirror was excellent so the condensation didn't stop one shaving/applying make-up etc.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room. The sizeable Tempus Dining area never appeared to have queues on any of the mornings we had breakfast. The porridge, with syrup, cream or sugar was lovely and all the usual cereals etc. There were cheeses and olives, a mini pancake maker, 'real' bread people could cut and toast or ready-cut loaves, fruit and yoghurts. The haggis with the cooked breakfast was spicy and tasty. Two little improvements might be having mushrooms as well as all the other goodies in the cooked range; the tea and coffee is topped up at the table: I do prefer a pot of freshly brewed tea at the table.
Overall, very comfortable beds, crisp sheets and a light duvet...not one of those huge heavy thick things that move en masse! Very enjoyable stay, would like to visit again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review of The Grand Central.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your location, accommodation and our hospitality.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, to repeat your experience all over again. Until next time!

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north vancouver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

If your travels take you to Glasgow - the Burrell Collection and the several spectacular Rennie MacIntosh architectural treasures should make you put Glasgow on your Scottish visit list, the Grand Central Hotel is.a truly excellent place to stay in the heart of Glasgow. Granted we scored an upgrade and our room was one of the most comfortable we have been in for a long time.

We had a superbly comfortable bed and sofa. For once the bath was capacious and the hot water flowed with gusto. In the morning, we had the buffet breakfast, as sumptuous as only a Scottish Hotel can do. The level of décor in this renovated hotel is tasteful and modern but respectful to its history as one of the grand old BritishRailway hotels.

And finally the staff – maybe I am biased as a Scottish emigrant but the staff here are as pleasant and accommodating as any Four Seasons anywhere and at a fraction of the price.
Heck this hotel is worth a detour even if your Scottish visit doesn't include Glasgow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deepcove5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand Central.

Glasgow is the place to visit! The architecture within the city and beyond stuns a lot of first time visitors. We are centrally located for you to visit many of the attractions you have listed including, the visual delights of Rennie MacIntosh, The Burrell or indeed the west coast of Scotland.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hospitality, and we hope that on your next home-bound visit you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to The Grand Central.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Total disappointment. First room smoky smelling, 2nd room although bigger was cold. Radiator in room only half of it worked, only one bathrobe and slippers, bathroom huge but an icebox as radiator not working and hot Tap trickled out. You could write your name on the dust one one of the shelves. Staff in restaurant were really nice but dinner at night was just ok not enough choice and small portioned. Waitress dropped some of the bread for my pate and didn't even replace it. Have had a nicer meal elsewhere for less money and to charge £9 for a rose wine is absurd!! Best thing was breakfast staff first class and food was lovely. Too many hotels about now to accept this kind of standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We have received your feedback, and our Guest Relations Manager has been in contact with you to discuss the points you raised.

Kind regards,

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Prestigia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing