We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Birthday Treat”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for one night only at The Grand Central as a Birthday treat for me. We travelled from Lancaster up to Glasgow..The Hotel is right there on The Station..And my first thoughts were "My god..the trains" But please don`t let it put anyone off as this is a superb hotel!
And you do not hear any sounds of trains!
Andrew Bunting booked us in and he was so lovely..he just could not have been any nicer..And the good thing was that we had been upgraded free of charge.."The Executive Twin Room" was massive and so clean and just fab! So thankyou "The Grand" Andrew also booked us out too and he was just as lovely as before ( Thanks Andrew) x x x Mrs Hazel North x x x

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was 362 on the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelina444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am delighted to read your excellent feedback from your recent stay here at the Grand Central Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your top rated review.

Please be assured I will pass on your wonderful comments to Andrew directly who will be very pleased to hear that all his hard work is much appreciated. Our team strive to create the “Grand” experience for all our guests and go above and beyond expectation.

We look forward to your next stay, where a very warm welcome awaits your return.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,578
    1,347
    575
    215
    141
See reviews for
423
1,744
176
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is located aside of the glasgow central station to if you arrive by train you dont even have to get out to the street to go to the hotel. Its location, as its name saids, is in the city center so you can access many places from there. There is a statue of a fireman in the entrance outside the hotel. Very clean an nice stairs and elevator. The rom was very comfortable. Safe box included. The tv was, i think, very small (like 32") and it was very far away from the bed. No free wifi. Breakfast was at 13 or 16 pounds (I dont remember exactly).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and for acknowledging our high standards in cleanliness, which is a high priority throughout the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from girlie weekend. we were 2 sets of sisters - in our 40's & 50's.

Rooms lovely - spacious and comfortable. Small probs with tap water pressure and heating were promptly dealt with.

We were on DBB rates thro' Hotel Connexions - and a table d'hote 3 course meal was offered. The menu was identical on both nights. As my sister and I are both coeliac - which severely limited our selections - this was particularly disappointing. Meals on both occasions were very "hit & miss". Lamb on first evening was delicious and on the second grissly and tasteless. On The other hand the chicken on the first night was tasteless and on the second the fish was delicious. We all felt a 4 star hotel needs to be consistent, and our experience on both evenings with dinner was below par.

We were looking forward to our visit to the champagne bar. However, it took so long to be served - 25mins to prepare 3 cocktails - we had to take them to the restaurant as would have missed dinner.

Overall, we met several friendly, helpful staff, but the overall quality was not as we had hoped and at £165 per night per room, we felt it could have been better.

Disappointing to write this about a land- mark hotel in my home city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am disappointed to read your comments on your recent stay with us. All guest feedback is very important to us and any issues are investigated and resolved as soon as possible to ensure we maintain the high standards of customer service we pride ourselves on.

Unfortunately as Trip Advisor is an anonymous site, our investigations are very limited, however please be assured all your comments have been taken on board and acted upon if needed. If you would like to discuss your comments further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly on 0141.240.3753 or e-mail laurie.nicol@principal-hayley.com.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the near future to experience the Grand Central Hotel at its best.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed overnight to attend a wedding, on the way there we noticed check in was 3pm, this was leaving no time to make ourselves look respectable. I rang ahead and the receptionist promised to have a room ready. We arrived and the female receptionist (I didn't catch her name) was extremely helpful, she came outside the hotel to advise on parking in Oswald Street. We took the token to the hotel and this reduced the fee to £8.
Our room was fantastic, very spacious with everything we needed, tea, coffee, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
We had no problems at all, found the cleanliness, location and breakfast all to our liking, therefore we would not hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joannebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for making a top rated review on your recent stay with us and it is a great compliment to us to hear that you would not hesitate to recommend the Grand Central Hotel to others.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just wanted to say what a wonderful stay we had on Sunday the 21st October.

My Husband and I have a wonderful stay, the food in Tempus was excellent I would be very happy to recomend this hotel to anyone.

I have to offer special thanks to the Manager of the hotel (so sorry did not catch his name but just been in the job for 6 weeks )who whet above and beyond to make or stay feel even more special. all members of staff were fantastic. Well done to everyone.

Will be back again very very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolterras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It is excellent to hear of all your great feedback from your stay with us on the 21st of October. Please be assured all your comments will be passed on to the rest of the team, who will be delighted to read your feedback.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to provide us with a top rated review.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, where a warm welcomes awaits you.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stopped for two nights over a weekend. Chose hotel mainly because of location as arrived by train into Glasgow central and was in reception within two minutes .Location is also handy fo using glasgows underground system.
We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking Gordon street which we found noisy with street cleaners starting around 6.00 am on the weekend .Noise carries because hotel has original windows probally because they are listed .However we excpected noise and did not find it too bad .
Hotel is a old victorian building which has had a refurb in the past two years so everything feels new.Hotel has done a good job of being modern but keeping original features.Room was great with 2 tables and chairs large lcd tv with satelite channels and tea and cofee facilities and a large bathroom
Our stay did not include breakfast but we used the cafe in the hotel Deli Central for breakfast on th friday and a full scottish breakfast was a reasonable £6.99 It is only open monday to fridays though
Location is great for shopping with argyle street and buchanun street only a few minutes walk
Some nice old glasgow pubs close by The horseshoe bar on drury st has a nice old victorian bar downstairs with a karaoke lounge upstairs
Staff we found very good especially the scottish concierge who loaned us a umbrella as it was raining
Had a couple of drinks in the Champagne bar which was nice but a wee bit overpriced cocktails were 8.99 in the Corinthian by george square which has similar nice suroundings they were 5.99
So a good hotel central for shopping transport and nightlife .

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking station probaly quiter through the nightime
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncandonuts190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel and providing us with all your feedback.

We are lucky to be located in the heart of this vibrant city, therefore being able to offer our guests all the attractions, shops and culture of Glasgow within easy walking distance.

Please be assured I will pass on your kind words to our Concierge team.

A warm welcome awaits your return.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great sunday package, room gorgeous and "roomy" and cracking view off inside the central,Batrroom massive and great shower. staff great, and helpful, Champagne bar was lovely with a great atmosphere ,drinks very pricey ...which was a shame as we had to go elswhere to drink. A very short waly and the drinks were less than half the price!!. but was a lovely night and would recommend it,, be back soon.
Great location for shopping and bars and resturants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayrlassie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for providing us with a top rated review on your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel.

We are very proud to have a team who are very knowledgeable in their departments and aim to go above and beyond guest expectation and they will be delighted to hear of your comments.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
2,650 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
1,738 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing