We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

well this hotel totally lives up to its name. everything about it was grand. we stayed for an overnight on the 14th oct 2012 and had an amazing stay. room was spacious and clean. very comfy beds. staff always pleasant and friendly and very smartly dressed. had a few drinks in the champagne bar which was lovely and comfortable. expensive but worth it for a special occasion. all in all we will not hesitate to return here again in the near future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I am delighted to read your excellent feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with a top rated review.

Our aim is to create a “Grand” experience whilst capturing the history of this magnificent building.

A very warm welcome awaits your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    1,263
    552
    207
    131
See reviews for
381
1,642
163
626
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed there in July. Although they spent a lot of money in refurbishing, it is not the Ritz. However, it is very clean, with very comfortable beds and the staff friendly and helpful. The location is great as it is central and right at and inside the railway station which was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. We changed rooms as the first room had carpet coming up at the entrance to the bathroom which was a tripping hazard and there was a small patch of what looked like mold on the ceiling. They were very accomodating in showing us a few other rooms and we settled for a large king bed room looking over the station. We loved watching the activity in the station and although a little noisy for some we found it not that obtrusive. The station closes at 11 PM so there is virtually no noise after that which was fine with us. I would have liked a small fridge and some air conditioning, but considering everything else it was still worth the money. The breakfast was superb, although the coffee was horrible. The cook, in particular, is vey friendly and took the time to converse a little with us. I would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTriptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. All guest feedback is important to us and is much appreciated.

As we are part of Central Station, some of our rooms and our Champagne Central have panoramic views of the railways, which is perfect for all our train loving guests and creates a very unique atmosphere and character.

Please be assured I will pass your other comments to the rest of the team for investigation.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
214 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Difficult to fault my stay. Located in the centre of Glasgow, walk off the train station and straight into the hotel. The station and the hotel is full of atmosphere. Reception was friendly, as well as all the other staff. Rooms were beautifully finished. Nice pubs right outside the hotel - much rated Charcoals is just up the street. Glasgow itself is special - wonderful architecture although patchy ie great buildngs mixed in with the ordinary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevelyonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

Our team take great pride in delivering guest customer service to create the “Grand” experience for all our guests. They will be delighted to hear of your excellent feedback.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

had an excellent weekend at this hotel - stayed due to my husband's fiftieth celebration. Party of 5 - nothing was too much trouble for the staff. My mum who is in her eighties also enjoyed her stay......We could even keep our rooms on at short notice. a great surprise to find that breakfast was until 11 at the weekend - great when you don't want to be up early after celebrating. The champagne bar was a little overpriced but the house champagne was decent. Staff really helpful and friendly. would definiately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the station roof - so do you look out of your window all day?? everything we n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I am delighted to hear that we were your hotel of choice to celebrate your husband’s special birthday and that you all had the “Grand” experience. Our team strive to go above and beyond to make all our guests occasions extra special and memorable.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to make a review and please be assured I will pass on all your excellent comments to the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, where a warm welcomes awaits you.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great location (above the station). Surprisingly quiet and large comfortable rooms. Good champagne bar to start the night. Friendly and polite staff. Can be a challenge to find a place to park the car (for those driving) as the hotel does not have parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewS184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Grand Central Hotel. All our guest feedback is very important to us to ensure we maintain exceptional customer service.

A warm welcome awaits your return.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, our room as nice, but on a par with a good Premier Inn or Ramada, nothing more for the extra money we paid.

There was no information folder / booklet in the room so we had to ask reception for all information. Unfortunately, they failed to tell us that breakfast was at a different time on the second morning of our stay and we missed it (we stayed on a bank holiday Monday and following day so breakfast was extended on the Monday). We later discovered that one of the lifts has the times of breakfast displayed, but the other doesn't.

The reception staff dealt with you in their own time and made no effort to be friendly. Our room was extremely hot and we asked reception for a fan several times before one was delivered. When it was, it was so small it made no difference at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to provide us of your feedback on your recent stay here at the Grand Central Hotel. All our guest feedback is much appreciated and valued.

Please accept my apologies for you missing our breakfast period on your second day. Your room should have been supplied with a guest directories with all the information needed during your stay.

Unfortunately as Trip Advisor does not give us any reservation details we are limited as to further investigation we can do; however please be assured all your comments have been taken on board and acted upon.

I do hope you decide to visit the Grand Central Hotel again in the future to see us at our best.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broxburn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

a very good value hotel in a great location if on a night out in glasgow . this hotel was friendly and the staff were very pleasant and helpful during our stay from the reception to the bar staff and even the doorman , well done to all.

Room Tip: we were on the first floor and there was no noise and it was convenient for all the hotel facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I am delighted to hear that you had the “Grand” experience during your recent stay. We are very proud to have a highly skilled and knowledgeable team who strive to go above and beyond guest expectation.

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback, which will be passed on to the rest of the team.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Prestigia, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing