We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in the heart of Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
167 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the heart of Glasgow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night in September whilst attending a conference there. The location is great, in the heart of the Style Mile and also actually inside of Glasgow Central Station. Staff were very professional and helpful throughout my stay. My company had booked me a single room which was on the 3rd floor, the room itself was clean and tidy and the bed very comfortable, the bathroom was absolutely enormous which to be honest felt like a waste of space as the room was quite compact. Breakfast was great, thoroughly enjoyed it, lots of hot and cold options and a large spacious room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ileftmyheartinTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your excellent feedback from your recent stay with us.

We take high priority in cleanliness and comfort throughout the hotel. The rest of the team will be very happy to hear of your kind comments in our service standards.

We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    1,290
    561
    209
    133
See reviews for
391
1,676
167
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotltish highlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Had a very pleasant one night stay while attending a show. Next time we will stay longer. Large spacious bedroom and bathroom. We had an enjoyable meal in the restaurant and found the Champagne Bar fun but a little expensive as you would expect! location is perfect for sight-seeing or shopping and within short taxi/train journey of the SECC. Staff were extremely helpful - especially Jim the Concierge! We will certainly return and recommend to friends,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anno5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for providing us with your excellent feedback.

Please be assured I will pass on your compliments to our Front of House Manager and Jim from Concierge, who will be delighted to hear your comments. Our team are highly knowledgeable of Glasgow City and all the attractions and current events going on in the City. I am delighted to hear that Jim was able to assist you on your visit.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a lovely stay here with a room to very high standard.Felt like a level of grandeur well above the price, Breakfast was very impressive. Picked up deal at Trivago. The Champagne Bar is a magnificant spot within the hotel with great view over station concourse.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwarbyHuntly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am delighted to see your top rated review and your excellent comments. All our guest feedback is of great importance to us.

I am glad to hear that you were able to make a visit to our Champagne Central during your stay. It is the perfect location to sit back and enjoy a glass of fizz while watching all the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city’s Central Station.

I would like to thank you very much for your review and a warm welcome awaits your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights when attending a family wedding in the city. Friendly, helpful staff, very generous family room with comfortable beds, nice shower. Cannot comment on the food as we stayed room-only, but the champagne bar was nice, if expensive. Would stay here again

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pixie2296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I hope you had a wonderful evening at your family wedding and I would like to thank you for taking the time to make a top rated review from your stay.

It is always great news to hear that our guests would not hesitate to return and shows the team here that we are maintaining our exceptionally high standards in customer care.

We await your return.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Fab position when we travelled by rail and walked off the train and into the hotel literally in just a few steps. Loved the cocktail menu in the Champagne bar which over looks the station interior elegance. Breakfast was great with everything including porridge and Haggis
Friendly and helpful staff helped make our 3 day stay relaxing and most enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancslass6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am delighted to hear of your enjoyment from your recent stay.

As we are a part of Central Station we are able to offer all our guests travelling by rail direct access to the hotel without having to leave the station. With our unpredictable British weather is can be very useful.

Thank you very much for your top rated review and a warm welcome awaits your return.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The front staff was so extremely helpful, and friendly! I arrived early in Glasgow after being in-transit for nearly 24 hours, the Grand Central staff made a huge effort to get my room made up so I could check in early, I appreciated that so, so much.
The hotel was easy to get to from the airport, there is a bus that leaves from right in front of the airport (it costs 5 British pounds), approximately 20 minutes later (2nd stop on route) you climb off the bus and walk about 2 blocks to the train station - Grand Central Hotel is actually attached to the central station. The room was clean and comfortable, and also fairly quiet actually (I was on the 4th floor and had requested a quiet room when booking online).
Oh, I tried the restaurant, the food and the service were great - I had a paneer dish that was awesome.

Room Tip: Higher floors likely have less noise, they do give you the option of requesting a quiet room when bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cultural_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am delighted to read your top rated review. All the team here at the Grand Central Hotel are guest focused and go above and beyond guest expectation to ensure all our guests have the “Grand” experience.

We are very lucky to be located in the heart of Glasgow City and being able to offer all the shops and main attractions directly on our doorstep.

Thank you for providing us with your excellent feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The hôtel is located conveniently in the city center, and it's grand interiors have been updated tastefully. The rooms are modern, the bathroom excellent. Add to this friendly staff, and a great cooked breakfast.
The only irritant is the Internet connection, which is slow and requires login every 30 min. Come on, be a bit more generous to make this a true 5* experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MoscouT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your comments. Please be assured I will pass on your great feedback on breakfast to our Chefs.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing