We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in Glasgow”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stay here a fair bit - and will be back again in two weeks - and having tried dozens of hotels across the city (in all price brackets) this is far and away my favourite. Fantastic building with loads of character, friendly and helpful staff and tidy, classy rooms. As others have mentioned, the bar is a real highlight; I've never left it sober either! My only gripe - from reading the reviews here - is that they've never offered me an upgrade or a drink voucher!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmondo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    1,304
    564
    210
    134
See reviews for
405
1,691
173
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Didn't have much to do with the hotel other than use it as a place to put our heads down, but with than regard we couldn't ahve chosen better. Good for Glasgow metro, very close to all shopping, bars, restuarants, theatres. Comfy rooms, excelllent chandelier.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambitiousmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback.

I am delighted that you had a very pleasant stay with us here at the Grand Central Hotel Glasgow. I am glad you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Hopefully you can visit our fantastic Tempus Restaurant & Champagne Central during your next trip to Glasgow

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

excellent stay, stayed for two nights bed and breakfast. rooms lovely and there was loads to choose for breakfast. lovely and handy for shops the staff were cheery and helpfull will be back. many thanks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Another excellent top 5 score!

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments. I am delighted you chose the Grand Central as the hotel for your stay, whilst on a shopping trip in Glasgow. We are in a fantastic location for shops, bars restaurants and of course the train station.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Grand Central Hotel in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Just had 2 nights here. A great stay at good price. My only comment would be that as it's an old building the windows are original wood. If you are a light sleeper take some ear plugs to avoid usual city noises. Has a great champagne bar and we got 6 free drinks on arrival to kick start our friends 40th! Didn't sample food as room only and thought 16.50 was pricey so went out instead. Had a great dinner at 2 fat ladies in the city seafood restaurant too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainmau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for your excellent top 5 score.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Grand Central Hotel Glasgow.

The Grand Central has a fantastic location within the city centre and within easy reach of the tourist attractions, shops and bars. An added bonus for guests is Glasgow Central Station concourse leads straight to the hotel entrance.

We have out fantastic Tempus Restaurant open to both residents and non residents. Hopefully you can sample its delicious locally sourced food in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Central in the not so distant future.


Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

This hotel is next to Central Station in Glasgow and the nearest car park is Oswald Street. If you park on level 5 you can enter the station on platform 17 and get to the main concourse and from there the hotel without going outside - useful to know and I only found this out when the receptionist advised me. The hotel has an agreement with the car park and 17 hours parking cost £8.
Rooms are excellent and breakfast was perfect - my poached aggs were cooked for me when I asked.
Bar prices a bit on the steep side.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review.

As mentioned we have a great car parking arrangement with the NCP Oswald Street car park. All details are available on our website.

I am please to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here on business.Room was clean and comfortable. TV was a fiddle to work. Breakfast hearty and yummy. Central location and being at the station make this an easy hotel for shopping and transient residents like me! I used the business centre and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review on Tripavisor.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us; and thank you for highlighting many of the advantages of staying at the Grand Central Hotel in the heart of Glasgow. What more can anyone ask for when the location is as good as ours! Bars, restaurants, shops and transport links all within a few minutes walk.

Our aim is to create an outstanding experience for all our visitors and we would very much like the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We recently had an overnight stay at this hotel and could not believe how wonderful our experience was. The room was absolutely gorgeous, spacious, clean and very tastefully decorated. The staff could not do enough for us and due to the size of the hotel there was always a member of staff to point us in the right direction. Breakfast was delicious and really set us up for the day. The hotel is in an ideal location for shopping,restaurants, pubs and transport. The hotel also has a beautiful champagne bar. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a high quality, good value hotel in a central location.

Room Tip: Corner room had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerimac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you another excellent top 5 score!

I am delighted you chose the Grand Central as the hotel for your recent overnight stay in Glasgow. We are in a fantastic location for shops, bars restaurants and of course the train station.

It is so pleasing to read your positive comments on the restoration of the hotel. I must agree Principal Hayley have achieved a unique balance between the traditional and modern features successfully, and there is such a history with this grand old hotel.

I will ensure all your positive feedback is passed onto the team.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.


Yours sincerely,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing