We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craigpark Guest House
Ranked #18 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for one night when we came down to Glasgow for a concert at the Hydro; we found it easily enough and were immediatly impressed with the cleanliness of the place (the only slight downside being the scaffolding that we had not been told about). The owner greeted us and was extremely friendly, professional and helpful. We weren't in the hotel much as we were out at the (conveniently nearby!!) Tennants Brewery and then of course the Hydro, but the beds were very comfortable, there was minimal noise and we both had a great sleep. Breakfast was delicious, with the only downside being crushed in to a table and being made to sit with people we didn't know, despite there being another empty table in the room - did not appreciate that, but very happy with everything else overall!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 75 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have stayed here a few times while working in the Glasgow area. Ideally situated if working multiply sites around glasgow. Lovely comfortable beds, and the owners are very welcoming. His full scottish breakfast was lovely and the perfect start to the day

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ada201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Craigpark on our way north and really enjoyed our visit. We found Thomas to be an excellent and gracious host. The house was decorated really charmingly for Christmas which added to the feel of staying in someone's old Victorian home. Our room and bathroom were basic but quite clean and just what we needed. The B&B is in a great location, close to the city centre (just a few minutes drive or 15-20 minutes walking), but is tucked away on a quiet and private street.

We enjoyed chatting with Thomas throughout our stay and he gave us some helpful tips on how to avoid holiday traffic and bad weather that we were heading towards! He was kind and welcoming, and getting to know the proprietor like this is one of the reasons I prefer independent B&Bs over chain hotels. If you're looking for luxury, you'd probably be happier at a big hotel in the city, but if you're looking for a comfortable place with a personal experience, I recommend Craigpark.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrm209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Craigpark Guest House for one night whilst dropping daughter at University. The Guest House is quite pleasant but the beds were absolutely awful.We had a twn bedded room (my son and myself) and both the beds were equally bad.Everytime one of us moved it woke the other.There was also a shower in the room which seemed a bit pointless as there was no toilet and anyone taking a shower would be doing so in view of the other.The Guest was clean and the best was fine,but getting no sleep ruined the stay.Also the toilet outside the room made a load noise when the chain was pulled.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tompettyGlasgow, Owner at Craigpark Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

I am sorry you had a problem with the beds. The cause, we discovered, was loose screws to the headboard and I am sorry it was not reported earlier, as it was easily rectified. Regarding the bathrooms, I cannot legislate which bathrooms guests use nor when. As for the room you booked, you will see from your booking confirmation, it was a twin with shower in the room- not an en-suite bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location was perfect for walking to the Glasgow Green, People's Palace, the Cathedral and the city center. We stayed in the room on the first floor which had the private bathroom across the main entrance hallway which was a bit strange. The owner was gracious enough to let us come a bit early. A note on breakfast - the owner makes a perfect poached egg!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I found this place quaint. A sweet little garden, that you can't actually sit in as there's no chairs. The rooms are clean, and the beds are comfy. The owner was a bit specific about arrival and departure times. He was very helpful suggesting places to visit and went through the maps with us. Breakfast was a bit of a let down -Nine strangers crammed into the tiniest dining room you've ever seen, politely sipping their instant coffee and trying not to look as awkward as they felt. The lorn sausage (luckily not a lawn sausage) was not as special as it sounds. I would stay here again in a pinch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tompettyGlasgow, Owner at Craigpark Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for the review. I would just like to correct one factual error.
Cemented into the lawn of the residents garden, are a garden bench and sundial.
Maybe should have gone to Specsavers?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I had a nice stay at this Guest House. Our welcome was warm and friendly and our room very clean. We stayed in Room 1 which has the private bathroom along the hallway - not ideal, but we new this was the situation when we booked. The breakfast was lovely and again, I have to say that the owners were extremely nice and welcoming to us in the morning while serving breakfast and check-out. I found it a little pricey for a Guest House, especially considering there are no en-suite facilities and in comparison to city centre hotel rates, but we needed to be in this area of town for a party and the street parking was free (parking in the city centre would have been an extra £10 - so the free parking helped balance the price). I am really surprised to see comments saying that the property was run down - we were only on the ground floor, but what we saw this property is immaculately kept inside and out. If you don't mind not having an en-suite and not being in the city centre, then I would certainly recommend this Guest House. (Having Robes in the bedrooms so you can nip out to the shared toilets would be a nice added touch). We have family in this area and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Largs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Hampton Court Guesthouse
Hampton Court Guesthouse
#12 of 35 in Glasgow
187 reviews
West End
Argyll Guest House
Argyll Guest House
#8 of 35 in Glasgow
246 reviews
South Side
Crosshill House
Crosshill House
#13 of 35 in Glasgow
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
369 reviews
City Centre
Charing Cross Guest House
Charing Cross Guest House
#21 of 35 in Glasgow
390 reviews
Number 52 Charlotte Street
#16 of 35 in Glasgow
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigpark Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigpark Guest House

Address: 33 Circus Drive, Glasgow G31 2JQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $65 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigpark Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Craigpark Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigpark Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing