We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome”

Auchentoshan Distillery
Ranked #8 of 78 Tours in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a guided tour of a traditional Scottish whisky distillery.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The warmth of the greeting received by staff, starting with the man on the gate, was incredible, and extended throughout the basic guided tour of the distillery (£6.00). We felt most welcome. The distillery is quite small, but unique for its triple-distillation system. Our tour, which included a by now familiar explanation of the process and the usual comments about Scots being canny about re-using the by-products, included a foray into one of the bonded warehouses, where two others were experiencing the full bottle-your own tour, a bit beyond my budget at £100 (book in advance).

Tours are every hour on the hour, and although we turned up on the off-chance it probably is worth booking in advance, as the type of tour that is available each hour may vary.

The tour guide was knowledgeable and gave a generous measure of Auchentoshan 12-year-old as a taster at the end. The real treat, however, is to be found in the Auchentoshan Three Wood, available in the shop: a heady and complex malt matured in three types of cask that is now promoted to current favourite for a special drink. I'm surprised they let it out of Scotland.

Don't trust your satnav if approaching from Glasgow: make sure you take the A82 heading west, otherwise like us you may end up behind the distillery in a housing estate.

For a contrasting style of tour and whisky, Glengoyne distillery is not far away by car. Do Glengoyne first, and then get bowled over by Auchentoshan.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ianiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    74
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

When you like your whisky, it's always a shame to find one that stinks. Such was my experience of Auchentoshan when I had a dram in a pub recently. So when we decided to include Auchentoshan on our 'whisky tour' this year I was dubious. Finding the distillery is your first and only challenge! Once you can negotiate the dual carriageway and side roads, you are in for a treat.
Darren was our tour guide and a very patient one. The newly refurbed visitor centre is only 3 years old and it looks great. The tour of the distillery was detailed and the tastings brought me a new and better understanding of the process. The Classic (8 year) is not for everyone, but the Three Wood is worth it's weight in gold.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kneeboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Intimate tour and great whiskey”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

First off: do not take the 66 bus here unless you give yourself at least an hour and a half of travel time from George Square.

It's a rustic old distillery with a wonderful modern tasting room. It was just my wife and I and Julia, our tour guide, was a wonderful host as she guided us through the distillation process. Very enjoyable experience that is a short walk from my Father-in-Law's house.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank chaptal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lowland distillery that positively stands out”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Visited on a Good Friday afternoon, which proved to be a busy time, as all together the group grew to more than 20 people. But even with that size, the best thing about the tour was that it wasn't rushed. We all had the time to look around, take photos, ask questions, poke our noses here and there. That is appreciated. The tour guide was pleasant and informative. The distillery alone is small but you can see a lot of detail of the process and steps along the way. What really stood out from other distilleries in this region was that we got to see half-products of distillation, like the greenish foreshots, ad the fact that they let you walk through one of their warehouses. That was awesome!

Additionally, there is a really nice bar. You could actually just go there to the bar itself. Amazing couches by the fireplace. Full range of their whisky, including travel editions to try. The shop itself is simple, no special discounts given, but you can get the Auchentoshan Cream Liqueur there, which you can't really find anywhere else. It's pricey, but unique.

And the whole distillery is accessible for people with mobility problems - I hobbled on crutches and was fine, they patiently waited for me at each step. A few stairs to go up at the start, but I think they have an alternative entrance for wheelchairs too.

Highly recommended! Much much much better than Glenkinchie and just one star better than Glengoyne visits.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AniaBeEdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two mates, all in our 20s, booked a personal tour back in early January. What can i say - the visit well and truly exceeded all expectations!!

Our guide Stevie was great and made our afternoon all the more enjoyable with his knowledge, enthusiasm and great banter!!

I would recommend paying that little bit extra for the personal tour as you benefit from a smaller group and thus the opportunity to ask questions and go at your own pace. You also build up a rapport with your guide and really benefit from their knowledge.

The place is fascinating, plus the malts are pretty good too! The visitor shop is well stocked including malts from other distilleries in the company group, and reasonably priced should you want to take home a treat for later :-)

Helpful?
Thank Scotboy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auchentoshan Distillery also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Auchentoshan Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing