We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Auchentoshan Distillery
Ranked #8 of 77 Tours in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a guided tour of a traditional Scottish whisky distillery.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two mates, all in our 20s, booked a personal tour back in early January. What can i say - the visit well and truly exceeded all expectations!!

Our guide Stevie was great and made our afternoon all the more enjoyable with his knowledge, enthusiasm and great banter!!

I would recommend paying that little bit extra for the personal tour as you benefit from a smaller group and thus the opportunity to ask questions and go at your own pace. You also build up a rapport with your guide and really benefit from their knowledge.

The place is fascinating, plus the malts are pretty good too! The visitor shop is well stocked including malts from other distilleries in the company group, and reasonably priced should you want to take home a treat for later :-)

Helpful?
Thank Scotboy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    71
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is gd day out”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went here not sure what to expect but found interesting , staff were very good , n the whisky was gd , a real high light .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Hour long tour plus tasting”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a spare few hours on on weekend break so decided to visit Auchentoshan distillery. While there are a number of tours, we chose the standard £6 tour and this was perfect for us. We went for the 12noon tour on Saturday and were the only visitors present in site which meant we basically had a personal tour of the five separate rooms / processes in whiskey manufacture. These included the distillation, mash tun, warehouse etc.

We didn't have a car so took the train to Kilpatrick station and the distillery is about a 15 minute easy walk along the A82. A day return from stations in Glasgow is about £4.

The tasting room was very pleasant place to continue our discovery of whiskey with our guide after the tour. A complimentary dram of 12-year old Auchentoshan is included but you can purchase additional from the entire range - we tried the 18-yr old which was lovely and smooth for an additional £5. We were also given a small taste of their cream liqueur, basically their approach to Bailey's. The only negative was that after buying £100 worth of whiskey in the shop after the tasting our guide did not offer to give the £5 additional dram we'd bought for free which seemed a tad ungrateful.

Helpful?
Thank cyprusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You'll understand why Auchentoshan is so so special here!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Me and my wife visited here to see of course the only tripple distillation in Scotland (well there other disttillery doing tripple distllation by pair of pot still but just forget about them!).

To tell the truth, that was the only reason I visited here, because the taste of the dram was too clear and delicate for me so it was not my most favorite dram.

But after visiting here and tasting the single cask whisky (bourbon hogshead) which we can fill by ourselves using traditional equipment called Valinch, we've understood that we had underestimated this whisky.

The strenght is over 50% abv but is flesh vanilla and citrus taste spreads in your plate dramaticly and yet still so soft and clear!

For whisky mania, this place will change the total image of this whisky so therefore highly recomend you to visit here! And of course I must come back here again!
(Visiting here from Japan isn't too easy but it sure worth it)

And for non whisky mania, this place is very near from Glasgow and it offers a very understandable tours letting you see almost everything and letting you know everything what you want from the process of whisky making to total history of whisky! Therefore, after visiting here you may become a whisky mania like us!
(Taking photo's are permitted within the premises else from the warehouse is also a good point of this tour, since DIAGIO's distillery never let you take a photo!)

I hope we can become whisky friends, by reading this articles and tasting the drams,

Slainte mhor!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kuraku3826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“pleasant tour”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went here for the last tour of the day at 3 o'clock on a Friday. £6 each for the basic tour. The reception staff were helpful with the girl showing us into a room to watch a video about the distillery before the tour started. It was on a loop but she put it to the start for us.

The visitor centre, loos and the grounds of the distillery were immaculately clean and well maintained. Time for the tour came and our guide (Jenny) welcomed us, invited questions at any time and showed us round. Hadn't done one of these tours before so found it interesting. After about 45 mins of walking and talking through the process we were shown in to the tasting room and given a sample of 12 year old malt. Very nice. Even bought a bottle and a scottish artist card to take away.

Well worth doing I would say.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank eccobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auchentoshan Distillery also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Auchentoshan Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing