We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, interesting and enjoyable!”

Auchentoshan Distillery
Ranked #9 of 80 Tours in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a guided tour of a traditional Scottish whisky distillery.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendly, interesting and enjoyable!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Really enjoyed the tour and tasting, friendly guide and very interesting - for both those that love whisky and those that just enjoy finding out how things are made. Highly recommended, and the whisky is excellent as well. No pressure at all to buy anything at the end of the tour but it was so good we couldn't help ourselves!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    77
    18
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and interesting tour!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Fantastic day out for whisky enthusiasts! Would definately recommend as not too far for Glasgow dwellers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarahp1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A jewel hidden away”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This distillery is located so near glasgow I visit often with visiting Family(it is even open between Christmas and Newyear when families are wanting a trip out.) My last vist in July I had a purchase which ireturned and was exhanged with no problem and a free voucher,thats how to impress.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for a short visit”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

If whiskey is your thing then there is a great deal worse you could do than visiting this brewery. The staff are friendly the free samples hefty and the tour interesting. I can remember the price being rather high for such a wee place but I guess the overheads are steep

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Clydebank Distillery”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I'm not a whisky drinker but having tasted this could easily be persuaded. We arrived for the first tour of the day, so were lucky to be part of a small group led by an informative young lady. The distillery is housed in beautifully maintained grounds, with colourful tubs of plants everywhere. The guided tour covered the making of whisky, the triple distillation and maturation process. An interesting fact was that the casks used are recycled and one of the uses is in the new Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome.
The tour finished with the sampling session in the bar area!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Falconscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auchentoshan Distillery also viewed

 
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Auchentoshan Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing