We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacchus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #493 of 2,429 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: City Centre Bar with Function / Conference Room. Light airy cosmopolitan feel with easy going and relaxed atmosphere serving 'Restaurant Food At Bar Prices'and Great Cocktails ! Also offering a wide selection of Draught and Bottled Beers from around the world ( including local brew !)and good choice of Quality House Wines.
Kilwinning, Scotland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Booked the recent Groupon deal for two. Had never been in here before and was pleasantly surprised. It's more a bistro/bar type place, very pleasant staff and good value menu with loads of options to choose from. The Groupon deal was really only worthwhile if you took the steak (dearest item on menu) as due to the excellent prices we could have got a 2 course meal for around the same price. Anyway, we did take the steak and it was gorgeous, large and cooked to our requirements, washed down with a very keenly priced bottle of Prosecco. Thanks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenOfHols31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    56
    14
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to Bacchus with a group of work colleagues and it was a great find. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when we were choosing our wine. Food was very reasonable and delicious. Nothing was too much bother for the staff, music not too loud, will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock, united kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“mussels, steak and wine. Lovely.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I went to Bacchus on Friday evening with a friend. She had booked us a deal through groupon. As this was the first time I had used groupon I wasn't sure what to expect in terms of quality but I didn't need to worry - it was great.
Bacchus is a cafe bar, not a pub but not a restaurant though I suspect it becomes much more bar like later on in the evening. When we arrived we were shown to our table by a friendly waitress.
We both ordered the mussels and steak. Both were lovely. Plenty of meaty mussels in the starter and the steak was big and fat, delicious and well cooked. It came with chips, frozen but decent quality and a quite small salad. We ordered a side order of onion rings and a peppercorn sauce. The sauce tasted good but was a little thick.
We ordered a bottle of wine at £14 which I thought was pretty good. Because we had the groupon deal our total spend was £42 which was great value. Ordering off the ordinary menu we would have been about £65. Not sure I would have paid that (only because its not a restaurant, the food was good enough) but I think there are other deals such as pre-theaters.
The atmosphere was friendly and easy. The service was pleasant, relaxed and efficient. I would definitely eat here again but would check out what deals were on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross B, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
yep. totally agree with everything.......we 'do what it says on the tin'. Apologies about the sauce tho'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food and service excellent”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We came across this place by accident through groupon and decided to book a meal for 4 ( work colleagues having a quick catchup after work ) I am sooo glad we have found this great place. The staff were very efficient and the service for drinks and food was absolutly brilliant. We did read a few reviews however we were really surprised at just how great it was. One of our party is a complete moaner and he just loved everything. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus G, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed it and your ' friend ' was happy too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Me and my mother come here all the time and we absolutely love it, the food is excellent and the atmosphere is amazing, we love every bit about it and frequent there as much as we can. Honestly, I would reccomend this to anyone!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordo_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus G, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you so much ! We don't get it right all the time but we do try to !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing