We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and a fun night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacchus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #374 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: City Centre Bar with Function / Conference Room. Light airy cosmopolitan feel with easy going and relaxed atmosphere serving 'Restaurant Food At Bar Prices'and Great Cocktails ! Also offering a wide selection of Draught and Bottled Beers from around the world ( including local brew !)and good choice of Quality House Wines.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“good food and a fun night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was in Bacchus on Saturday night with 3 friends to take advantage of the 2 course evening menu.
We arrived 30 mins early for our 7 pm booking, to which we were greeted by a very friendly waitress who took us over to a table(thought we might have to wait around so bonus!)
The food was really good and served with a smile. We all went for the steaks which were very tasty.
Great atmosphere in the bar with nice staff and great food....top notch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus G, General Manager at Bacchus, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Oh my goodness ! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    55
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked for their mussels & steak groupon deal .On arrivals and perusal of menu - there appeared to be similar offers on there. Food was fine , not great . However the attitude of a member of staff ruined everything . No credit card machine working - not acceptable in the 21st century . As this place is situated near the Merchant City in Glasgow it is no wonder that it is not busy whilst the bars and restaurant nearby and in the Merchant City are busy . The member of staff in Bacchus basically was not fit for purpose for dealing with members of the public. Please avoid this place as there are far better places to eat and drink nearby .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus G, Public Relations Manager at Bacchus, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments. We will try harder !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not a great deal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked the mussels and steak deal on groupon and on arrival noted that we could hav had the same deal with more choice if we had walked in off the street.
I am amazed that they describe this place as as a cafe bar.Its a pub with poor furnishings
The food was ok but the starter was a small portion of mussels and certainly not a double portion as advertised
The steak was ok however rhe rocket salad only consisted of rocket and the chips were of frozen origins
Add to this some dreadful wine and average service.
finally it was a lovely sunny day wen we attended and the blinds were left tight shut
Cant really understand the previous
favourable reviews

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WallyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus G, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Wally,
The blinds are there to keep the sun out of peoples eyes and at a certain time of the day we are usually asked to close them. As for your other comments I think they are spiteful and unfair !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit to Bacchus on the Groupon Mussels and Steak deal. Fantastic fun. Great steaks, perfectly chargrilled. Super mussels to share. Pleasant, efficient, smiling staff. A bargain all round. Only one thing....the side order of onion rings. Those frozen things....yeuch! Try homemaking them...it's easy! Overall though....EXCELLENT!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank epicureglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus G, Owner at Bacchus, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments. Have taken on board about the onion rings !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrochar Argyll & Bute
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Delightful Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Bought a groupon for the Mussels and Steak deal....can I just say the meal the staff and the
Pub /Resturant were quite delightful the meal was excellant and a plateful the steak was done to perfection & the Mussels were also excellant more than enough for two people served with plenty garnish will certainly visit this friendly and welcoming P/R again my Mum who was with me celebrating a belated birthday meal "84 yrs. young" also past a comment about how the staff were so friendly and nothing was a bother to them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Modgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing