We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Italiano” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celino’s

Celino’s
Ranked #17 of 2,386 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Winners of Scotland's best Cafe/Bistro Award 2012, 2013, 2014 and Best Italian Bistro 2013! A beautiful authentic Italian eatery, familay run with quality food and value for money always!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go Italiano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fantastic, authentic Italian restaurant... whether you're in for the sensational cooked breakfast, a bit of lunch, or an evening meal, celino's is a wee gem of a place. It is small, but cosy and the staff are friendly and attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Head waiter Alan is the jewel in the crown of this fantastico Italiano and the scrumptious food that the kitchen delivers is consistently excellent. It is a must for all discerning foodies who like value for money and their taste buds to be caressed. The alcohol is a little pricey for an east end establishment e.g. £5 for a pint of moretti and £5 for glass of wine. If the rating was based only on food and service i would have given it an excellent, but it is about the overall experience which includes drinks. That's why I have given it a very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LAW1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    136
    26
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go Go Italiano!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fantastic, authentic, Italian food. Attentive, friendly but not overly friendly staff. Alan whom I believe is the head waiter, is the jewel in the crown of what is a fantastic eatery. He directs the kitchen when a customer is ready for their main course, the food doesn't come out production line style... if you need a rest between courses, that isn't a problem. In addition, the food is excellent value for money, although drinks are a bit expensive especially for an east end establishment e.g £5 pint moretti beer, £5 glass of wine! It's definitely worth a visit though and the cooked breakfast is the best you can get anywhere for both quality and value for money... We were at cafe gandolfie and had an amazing breakfast there, but it was much more expensive. Wednesday night tapas is a firm favourite of mine £ 10 for 3 tapas and they are a good size. Just go easy on the beer and wine or you dfrinks bill will be alot more than your food bill!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LAW1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here a number of times over the last year and it just gets better. From the take away counter to siting in for a meal everything is spot on. Plz never change!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cnimmo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had chicken pate and bruchetta to start with - the pate was superb as was the bruchetta. Then we had the free range Christmas turkey with vegetables which was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection. Finally we finished with Tiramisu and a selection of ice cream which was absolutely top class. This is a fantastic restaurant with fantastic food and the staff are so kind, polite and helpful. Definitely want to return again and again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker227135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Surprised but very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My son suggested we meet here for lunch . Luckily he had booked as it was very busy. It is a restaurant attached to a delicatesen or is it the other way round. The service was good and the food was good.. I liked the atmosphere and if I had to eat on the east side of Glasgow I would eat there again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celino’s also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Celino’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing