We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Celino’s

Celino’s
Ranked #18 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Winners of Scotland's best Cafe/Bistro Award 2012, 2013, 2014 and Best Italian Bistro 2013! A beautiful authentic Italian eatery, familay run with quality food and value for money always!
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had chicken pate and bruchetta to start with - the pate was superb as was the bruchetta. Then we had the free range Christmas turkey with vegetables which was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection. Finally we finished with Tiramisu and a selection of ice cream which was absolutely top class. This is a fantastic restaurant with fantastic food and the staff are so kind, polite and helpful. Definitely want to return again and again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker227135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    137
    26
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews
Level Contributor
144 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Surprised but very good”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My son suggested we meet here for lunch . Luckily he had booked as it was very busy. It is a restaurant attached to a delicatesen or is it the other way round. The service was good and the food was good.. I liked the atmosphere and if I had to eat on the east side of Glasgow I would eat there again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent trattoria”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This slightly off the beaten track restaurant is the best place to eat in Glasgow if Italian food and informal dining suit you. It also shares the premises with an excellent delicatessen serving mainly Italian produce. The food is excellent and reasonably priced and there is a good wine list. It can be rather crowded but this is the only drawback. There is a limited amount of covers and word is getting round so it is advisable to book especially for evening meals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owasso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Italy has a firm foothold in Glasgow's East End”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Totally authentic family run Glasgow Italian restaurant and deli, run by folk who are happy to be there and help you have a great time. There is nothing posy about this place and your as likely to be sat down next to a local having a lunchtime sanni and tizer, or a pensioner in out of the rain, as someone dropping in from further afield looking for a good value special and a glass of italian red. The welcome is always heartfelt and staff are keen to please. Its not a big place and the decor (behind the mounds of Italian produce) is basic but there is always a buzz and a great atmosphere. Recipes are not flash but they offfer good home cooking at a very reasonable price.
The Deli side is run along the same lines. You may have to wait while they made up a fresh sandwich for the guy in front of you but there's so much to tempt you while you are waiting. It's difficult not to keep adding more purchases. You leave feeling uplifted that it's still possible, with the right staff and right attitude, to run a family business that knocks spots off all the competition (not just you Jamie!).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We visited Celino's for the first time today, having heard so much about it. It did not let us down, in fact it was better than expected.

The deli is packed full of Italian produce - even the ceiling has items hanging from it. The chilled cabinets are a joy to look at. the atmosphere is wonderful and strikes you as soon as you enter.

What impressed us was how busy it was - people were continually visiting and that is always a good sign. Staff appeared to know most of the customers - again a good sign.

We had lunch and were both very impressed - I had Penne Salsiccia which was wonderful. My wife had a panini which she rated very highly and it was beautifully presented with salad and crisps. The menu is good and not overly priced (ie it would dearer in the city centre for the same items) at specialised Italian delis).

Overall a fantastic visit and we are looking forward to trying the items that we purchased.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mfc3024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celino’s also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Celino’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing