We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for lunch”
Review of Brel

Brel
Ranked #357 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A nice place for lunch”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Near the University off a cobbled street you will find Brel, a Belgium eatery featuring mussells and frits along with a varied menu. The price is modest and the food interesting and refreshing. Many locals can be found eating here along with tourists.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msl50birm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrelBar, Manager at Brel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello - thanks for stopping by for lunch. It's great to hear you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    184
    81
    37
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Big change”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

In 2007 I frequently visited Brel in Ashton Lane. The food then was great. In addition to the moules and frites there was sea bass and other tempting dishes on the menu. Taking a trip down memory lane I returned again. Big mistake! The menu was uninspiring.As a starter we ordered langoustines. These were of the anorexic variety, having next to no meat on them. The steak my partner ordered wasn't great and had gristle in it. The macaroni reminded me of the frozen variety, too much cornflour and bland. Best part of the meal was the frites which were great. Really quite disappointed and not the Brel I remember. The waitress was extremely pleasant and helpful, just a shame about the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrelBar, Manager at Brel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello there.

We're sorry to hear that your recent trip to Brel wasn't up to scratch. We pride ourselves on using quality fresh ingredients and I have passed your comments on to our head chef.

I'm glad you enjoyed the service you received and hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for mussels”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent place for moules et frites in the West End of Glasgow. Great atmosphere and great location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrelBar, Manager at Brel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We're really glad you enjoyed the mussels, Lemongrass, chilli, coriander and coconut are my favourite.

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
1 review
“disgusting”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went to brel for my sisters birthday, worse idea to celebrate my sis birthday, ordered fish n chips and it was so greasy it was dripping off the plate and tasted like dirty oil. My sis had the mussels and she only had a few when I asked her why she didn't eat them she said they were not nice at all. For the price you pay to get 2 meals that were DISGUSTING how I ask myself do people eat here, also waited 25 minute for the meal. Wont return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrelBar, Manager at Brel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am disappointed to hear that your visit was not up to our usual standards in either service or food quality. I will be looking into why your food took so long to arrive and I have spoken to the head chef and he has changed the batter for the fish and chips to ensure they are crispy every time.
I have also sent you a private message and hope to welcome you back to Brel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited here today but doubt if we will be going back .ordered off the special lunch menu. Soup and a burger.soup came after 20 minutes,along with the burger ,but had to send the soup back ,it was lukewarm. I had the fish finger burger which was not really good value for money only two fish fingers and a bit of saladabit pricey and didn't come with fries they were extra and if you wanted cheese on your burger that was a pound extra..nothing special wont be back....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curvesHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrelBar, Manager at Brel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review Brel. I am sorry to hear that your visit was not up to our usual standards of service or value. I will look into why your order took so long to arrive and all came together.
We will be reviewing our lunch menu over the coming weeks to ensure that it still offers value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brel also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Brel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing