We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience- most comfortable bed ever and amazing lobby”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
dundee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great experience- most comfortable bed ever and amazing lobby”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This hotel is really different to anywhere I've stayed before. All the public places are beautifully decorated with tasteful nods to various classic designs. Free internet access on macs with massive flat screens was a great added bonus. The rooms are basic in their design but incorporate lots of great technology- like mood lighting and remote control curtains. Although the rooms are comfortable and the bed was probably the comfiest I've ever slept on, they are small and I can't imaging spending more than a couple of nights there- there is a lack of storage. Room seemed quiet- didn't hear anything but not sure if adjoining rooms were being used. Only spoke to staff briefly but seemed very helpful and keen. Perfect location too- right next to everywhere you need to be. Doesn't have on site parking put there's a car park on Cambridge street that is really cheap- only cost me £3.50 for 24 hours! I'll definitely stay here again. Only drawback was that I couldn't get the aircon to work and the room was quite hot- I couldn't be bothered asking reception about it- it's all quite hi tec so I might have been doing something wrong!
I think more 'classic' travellers might not be so keen on this hotel but I thought it was great!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandsandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,306
    1,361
    296
    109
    61
See reviews for
266
2,865
330
818
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed in this hotel as tame guinea pigs, before it officially opened, but the staff we dealt with seemed excellent. The room we had was around seven feet wide with a perfectly square (and very comfy) bed filling the far end under the window. The en-suite is a self-contained pod, although the sink was in the bedroom and was tiny.

The room is controlled almost exclusively by a Philips electronic remote control called a moodpad. To be honest, it's a bit flaky but it does condense control of the heating, lighting, TV and blinds into one compact place. The room was very high-tech and beautifully furnished, impeccably clean and really good fun for an evening, with loads of movies and plenty of choice for adults...

There's no storage space other than under the bed and a tiny clothes rail, so if you're staying for more than one or two nights, you might struggle for room. Also, part of the CitizenM philosophy is automation, so there aren't many staff and there's no restaurant - just a self-service area on the first floor where you can at least get drinks, sandwiches and things that can be microwaved.

We had a great time here, and for short-stay travellers, it's a great place - much more fun than the usual four and five-star hotels in Glasgow.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandLauraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My wife and I were among the first paying customers at this newly-opened hotel. Overall, both the product and our experience of it were very good.

There were three or four minor niggles. Let me comment on these briefly: short delay at check-in because of technology glitch (staff apologetic and provided me with drink while I waited); room rubbish bin not emptied and sink mirror not cleaned properly on first night; hot water was not too evident on the morning of our departure day; there is a bit of a disconnect between the `budget` branding and the cost of the self-service drinks and snacks available.

However, the postives far outweigh the negatives (and I could put down three of the niggles noted to staff and systems needing a little time to `bed in`.)

The hotel is a fantastic design concept with spacious, artfully-presented public areas and a pleasant bar area. Others have undersandably commented on the relatively small size of the rooms and limited storage space. While this is true, the public spaces including bar, tv areas, computer area and provision of free wifi (throughout the hotel) compensate well.

The rooms themseves really are good. The Moodpad - the all-in-one tv remote sized control pad - handles everything from ambient room lighting to tv, aircon, blinds and shutter. (I have provided a few photos of the room.) Although I didn`t use the in-room telephone, I noted that the call-rates were based on Skype/VOIP rates. This is revolutionary!

Staff came across as being genuinely friendly and helpful. There was that all-important `can do` attitude in evidence. This is worth a lot, and the hotel management is to be credited on this in terms of recruitment/training as well as embedding the right philosophy in the staff. Representatives of management were friendly and `active` in their response to my mentioning minor room-related issues (eg checking out functioning of the aircon system)

So, visit CitizenM for a comfortable,stylish, arty and hi-tech central Glasgow hotel experience that represents excellent value for money.

Brian Thomson

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianbru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Having just arrived from afew nights camping,was hoping for much and this place duly delivered.the moodpad concept is absolutely outstanding,and although the room is small,for a single night,it ticks all the boxes.will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrplexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,298 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
717 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,132 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,902 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing