We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Monday night the night I was taking my significant other to the Michael Buble concert. Superb bed was huge, and the TV had some good channels for coming in after a romantic night with a few wines if you catch my drift. The lights could be set to a colour of your choice aswell which added to the atmosphere. Great we hotel no hassle at all.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,534 - 2,540 of 5,334 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

I ALWAYS book Citizen M whilst I'm staying in Glasgow! It's in a perfect location to walk into the town for shoppin gand Sauchiehall Street. There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.

The staff are always really friendly and helpful especially at the self check in!

The whole hotel is so funky and comfortable, the bed is massive and amazing!! The best nights sleep ever! Everything is controlled via a tablet in the room including lighting (You can change the colours), TV, Blinds etc.

There is just one chair and a wardrobe in the room with a small side table and the standard Citizen M Bunny!! WIth a normal addition of a plastic elephant too!!

There is a large shower room with amazing shower!! I've never ate breakfast in the hotel so I cannot comment on that.

I will be back as always :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayLeigh09102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

For us oldies anyway....
Everything to describe the place has already been said and is on the website - tablet driven, self check in, podlike bedrooms, so if you don't like the idea of this then don't go and complain about it after!
The thing that made it special for us were the staff. From Calum at check in to Joanna at the bar to the housekeeping lady in the lift, everyone was friendly, all happy to help with a cheery smile and time for a joke and a chat :)
Don't think I can add anything more of value other than this is somewhere I'd definitely go back to.

Room Tip: Stay top floor, you get a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Everything in this hotel seems to be run via technology, which starts at the reception. Unfortunately we arrived at a quiet time so the place was deserted and there were no signs to show where one was supposed to check in or how to do it. We eventually found someone to help and they were very efficient and pleasant but needing someone to help kind of defeats the object of the exercise.

Our room was on the top floor and as such had a great view but that was mostly ignored in favour of playing with the tablet that controlled the room. It's used for everything from lights, mood, blinds, temperature and entertainment. It wasn't that simple to fathom and some aspects seemed not to work properly. However, the free wifi was great.

The bed was very comfortable but being wedged between two walls, is not easy to get into when one is recovering from a broken leg as I currently am! The bathroom and wash basin were well designed although we could not find suitable socket for a shaver/electric toothbrush. There are however multiple electric sockets elsewhere for foreign visitors to plug in their electrical goods without an adaptor. There are no coffee/tea facilities or tumblers in room. We didn't mind but some people might.

We didn't eat in the hotel but had a drink in the decent bar and thought the lounge areas were very relaxing. The witty quotes on walls and elsewhere were also fun. The hotel is well situated for shopping and other attractions. If you park at a nearby car park, ask at reception for the ticket to be stamped for reduced costs.

Overall, a good hotel for the business person, not so much for family or romantic getaways.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Always stay here when on a night out in Glasgow. Hotel has everything needed for the casual 1 or 2 night stay. Although there's not a restaurant in the hotel they do provide food at all hours and the cooked breakfasts are fab. Love the design of the hotel and it's very central to the City Centre. Staff are great and are always helpful. Bar shuts at 2am :( . Rooms are small but adequate for a night or 2 and the bed is mahooosive :D. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was told this was a different type of hotel, but I couldn't guess just how different. There are in fact quite a few things to admire about the hotel which belie the rating I gave it. First impressions are very good. The lobby on the first floor in a wide open L-shaped space with beautiful design led furniture and bookshelves and art creating the living room space it advertises. At one end is a relaxed business centre though rather annoying using Apple products. At the other end is a bar/restaurant area for refreshments and meals. Check in is a bit annoying as its all automated. Thankfully helpful staff are there to assist tired travelers who didn't quite get it.

The bar/restaurant really excels. The staff are super friendly and helpful, giving us some really good recommendation for drinks and dinner. Their own bar prices were reasonable for a hotel, and the breakfast we had one morning was rather good for the cheap £10.95, though some items were a little on the dry/overcooked side. The bar/restaurant is a really lovely feature of the hotel, though given its late opening, it can get a bit overwhelmed with party revellers returning to the hotel. I know this being one myself on one night.

So why the lacklustre rating? I'm afraid its the rooms. They are tiny and full of contradiction. The bed is magnificent and so comfortable. But as it takes up one end of the room it is impossible to figure out sleep arrangements for two people. The shower is among the best I have ever had, but placed inside a bathroom pod with translucent walls, it didn't feel very private. And I never will like sinks in a room. The TV and free movies all accessed via a tablet were great, but with a choice of a mahossive bed or uncomfortable smallish chair they were not enjoyed that much. And finally there is no storage anywhere. There were two of us there for three nights with only room to hand 3-4 items and no drawers. We lived out of two suitcases with contents scattered around an already small room. Finally, the iron and ironing board were European style... elsewhere.

If I was a single traveller staying for one night I would absolutely adore this hotel. For a couple on a mini break it left many things to be desire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukstarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Great value for money for a city centre hotel. Quirky well designed rooms with very nice touches. Huge comfy bed, monsoon shower, tablet to control TV and room settings. Good bar with great cocktails.
Rooms are compact but well thought out. Perfect for business travellers

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
874 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,359 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,046 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $92 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing