We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“theatre visit”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed just the one night as we were in town for the theatre, the staff are friendly with the girl(ambassador) at the self check in area very friendly and helpful if you need any advice on how to check in. The rooms are small and modern and would not suit everybody's taste ie the more mature among us, the wall to wall bed is very comfortable although awkward to get into, the shower room unusual in a good way and the control of the lighting, blinds, heating and television remind you of gadgets from James bond type films.All areas of the the hotel were spotlessly clean. The breakfast menu had a good selection to choose from with the exception that there was no fried, scrambled or poached egg to choose from, omelette being the only choice. The tea and coffee is served in mugs with the tea bag still in the mug I would have preferred it to be served in pots. Overall I would still recommend this hotel especially if you like modern.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank william t b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,868 - 2,874 of 5,481 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while on a business trip, really trendy hotel.
Relaxed atmosphere and very clean. Rooms are very modern with some very cool features, the control tablet for lights, tv and blinds is a great touch. Wish I had that kind of technology in my own home.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank SMG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I had seen the pictures so I expected this but. It really reminds me of the Red Rocks Resort in Las Vegas -- but not quite!

The room was large and the bed was HUGE. The shower had a really cool wall of lights and everything in the room was automated. Slept very well here. I would definitely stay here again. The rate was amazing for the quality. Only in Glasgow for 3 days, but it was a great base to see things from. We used the train a lot to see the countryside and this Hotel was about 5 blocks from the train station -- VERY connvenient. It's a 3.5 star hotel with a 2 star price tag.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhettRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here twice in 2013. The location of the CitizenM Hotel is perfect, close to the main shoppingstreets. If you like modern style hotels then you will love this one! On the first floor the CanteenM is located, a bar where you can obtain drinks and food 24hours. There are Imac's that are offered free of charge to the guests. The rooms are small, but they have a huge wall to wall bed. Internet and On Demand movies are free of charge!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumeirah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of an indulgent celebratory day off. I booked it after much deliberation as to whether to go for one of the big 5 star hotels but was swayed by the amazing reviews on tripadvisor and the significantly lower price. And it was awesome!
It really is a lot of fun... Has whiffs of brave new world but nicely tongue in cheek and very luxurious given the concept.
The staff were great and immensely refreshing .... Where do they get the energy?
Breakfast was great value .... Fresh fruit, innocent smoothies, croissants, full cooked Bkfst and good coffee.
The rooms are indeed small but perfectly formed. Kind of ideal for a couple as it's quite intimate but that's ok, right?
Loved the tablet room controls, huge comfy bed and views.... Felt like a real treat from beginning to end.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seallofapproval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Rooms are very compact but decked out with latest gadgets and toys. Funky lighting is interesting and the bed was huge and comfortable. Convenient location to city centre, and perfect for a short stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenlaw M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you have done what I suggest in the title of this review, you will realise by now that this is not a conventional hotel. And that means you cannot expect to use it like you would a conventional hotel. The bedroom is for sleeping and washing - don't expect to be able to sit comfortably in an arm chair and watch television, or read a book. And don't try to work at your lap-top.

But the sleeping is good - the beds are very comfortable and the rooms are dark and quiet. The showering is also good, although why the basin is separate from the shower/WC pod is anyone's guess, and the lack of anywhere to dry the towels was awkward (especially as the rooms are only serviced every 2 days).

The gizmo to control the lights, heating, TV, blinds, etc, kept me engaged for a while. Though I never did master the temperature function, meaning that our room was constantly a little cold.

For reading, TV watching, working and eating, there are huge, interestingly furnished common areas. These we thought were great, although to judge from the puzzled expressions on some faces, they may be too modern for some tastes. There is a very good wifi signal in these areas (and a quite poor one in the bedrooms). And Apple computers to use for free should you not have brought your own.

Service was very friendly, although on occasion a little amateurish. The breakfasts are worth having.

Overall, I was wavering between 3 and 4 stars, but decided in the end to ignore the failure of the heating, and the occasional slap-dash service and give it four.

Room Tip: When doing the self-check-in we were asked to select a city or courtyard view room. We selected cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aberphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
933 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,102 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $89 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing