We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for raunchy couples!”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Citizen M is a fairly unique hotel. It offers nice and comfortable rooms albeit a bit small. Checking in is quick and painless, all done via touchscreen computer with an assistant on hand if your struggling. The staff are extremely helpful, pointing us in the direction of a very good steakhouse 10 minute away in a taxi. The bar/seating area is very relaxed and comfortable and has some very odd seats that are fun to play around on.

The rooms are quirky, with cool led lighting that can be adjusted by touch screen remote control. Ours was on the blink though and it was difficult to adjust the colours at times.

The flats screen TV offers a wide variety of entertainment, all free of charge from music to movies. Some of these did not work as expected and we were particularly disappointed when the adult movie 'cream pie 3' refused to work. I contact reception who were apologetic for the fault and offered to send someone to our room to fix it, but due to the sensitive nature of the content we wanted to watch, we refused their assistance. It would have been better if this could be fixed remotely. In the end, we settled for 'deep throat mayhem' and we're satisfied with our selection.

Due to the way the room us setup, the bathroom facilities offer little privacy. Whilst this is fine when you watch your partner shower naked, it's not so good when nature calls. To put it one way, you'll either hear the sound of waterfalls or mud rushing down the hill during a landslide. This can be a bit embarrassing so it would not be recommend if you were just starting a relationship.


All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay at citizen m and would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naughtyboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,342 - 3,348 of 5,467 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Never stayed in a hotel quite like this before. Very trendy indeed! Check in was ridiculously easy, staff were very helpful. Room was a bit small but that's how it's set out! Loved the overhead shower, and the fact that everything in the room from the mood lighting, TV, blinds, air con could be controlled from one remote controller! Bed was really comfortable and I had a great nights sleep (which is pretty good for me as I'm a very light sleeper). Not bothered about lack of kettle, cups and all that stuff, didn't need it at all. Check out was easy, brilliant saving on parking if you use certain car parks linked to the hotel. Was quoted a price the night before and when I went to pay, it was only half that value. Will definitely stay here again, if it's a one night stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistahLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is well-placed hotel in Glasgow City Centre, a very short walk from Buchanan Street bus station.
Ground floor- is how you enter the hotel from street level and is not particularly welcoming. However, just go up one floor, spiral staircase or lift and it improves dramatically.
Hotel facilities - the hotel facilities in the general area (1st floor) are excellent. There are some computer workstations, with computers and some work areas for your laptop etc. I arrived a bit too early to Check in and just settled down there to work. Wi-Fi is available free of charge all over the hotel including rooms and it works well. As well as the 'hard' areas / workstations, there are also some 'soft' areas, excellent for gathering, having a meeting or as one group was doing, having a video conference. Staff are also on hand to help and they are friendly,
knowledgeable and helpful.
Rooms - although I was traveling on my own, the cheapest room which I could book was a luxury double room which sleeps two which is what I god. The rooms are quite different to the norm. They are small, being exactly the width of the bed. However, they are well-equipped and have an excellent large shower which is very well equipped. TV is also comprehensive with no annoying paytv trying to sell you stuff all the time. I also noticed that there are a variety of channels including a reasonable selection of channels from other countries for foreign visitors visiting Glasgow.
Note that there are no coffee and tea facilities in the room. Drawer storage and a safe is provided in drawers under the bed.
Breakfast - is £8.95 if you book it when checking in or £10.95 if you just turn up in the morning. There is a reasonable selection of breakfast items available, continental and cooked. Fresh lovely coffees and teas. Excellent,high quality juices, porridge, fruits and pastries. However the hot food was a bit of a let-down, only over-cooked mini-omelettes, very poor quality cheap sausages, average bacon, black pudding, potato scones and baked beans. With the high quality of juices etc. on offer, this was a bit of let-down. Overall though, it was a good, though not excellent, selection.
My Tips -
Do not try and Check-in before noon. Sometimes there is availability but it will cost you more.
Do use the comprehensive business facilities on the first floor - there is great choice, they are free and are excellent. The wifi throughout the hotel is also excellent all the time. Bedrooms are small so it is nicer to use the general facilities when you can, it is less claustrophobic.
Glasgow airport - if you are coming from Glasgow airport use the excellent transfer bus from the airport to Buchanan Street Bus Station - there is a bus every 10 minutes and the hotel really is a short and easy walk from Buchanan Street Bus Station. The cost of the bus is substantially cheaper than a taxi. Do also consider buying a return bus ticket as it is a good bit cheaper than two single trips.
Breakfast - if you intend having breakfast at the hotel, buy it when checking in as it is cheaper than buying it in the morning.
Book - book as soon as you can confirm your trip as the cost can rise quite a lot nearer the time of your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Second time we've stayed here. Room was good, really enjoyed the mood lighting, was very clean, bed was huge and there was good selection of movies on the tv.
I liked the self check-in instead of waiting at a reception desk, however, when I had problems with one of the machines I couldn't find a single staff member for who could actually help for a good while, so I feel there should be an option for both more readily available.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wells89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Combined visit to Glasgow where we had not been for over 25 years to take in sights, experiences and Springsteen. Wanted somewhere clean, comfortable, central and affordable. Citizen M ticked all those boxes.
Possibly a little too trendy for those who like the more traditional hotel comforts, i.e. no tea/coffee in rooms, glazed en-suite bathroom pod that sacrificed privacy for design, and one end of the room being a bed/lounger. That said I liked it and enjoyed the experience, the staff were both very friendly and helpful with the cost of the stay being competitive with a Travelodge but with a much fresher and contemporary feel. Oh and the bed was very comfortable and just what was needed after a fantastic concert at Hampden Park, though I did manage to break the journey via the hotel bar which had a nice late night vibe!
The image certainly suits city types I'd certainly stay again. I look forward to their new hotels opening in New York and Paris.

Room Tip: choice of city facing room gives a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brennanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you imagine that IKEA were dutch and made hotels, you'd get a good sense of the CitizenM brand. Design led, quirky and arty but also efficient and reasonable prices for Glasgow central. A very refreshing change from the standard hotel and would use them again in Glasgow or elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A very clever marketing ploy or a real hi tec experience? Take your pick but the answer is it works. Rooms are narrow of cat swinging type, comfy bed, sort of like sleeping in a submarine whtever that feels like? V friendly helpful staff. My wife loved it and wants to go back. In Glasgow for one night and that might be about right. Just a sleep over and good fun! Well done Citizen M.

Room Tip: Not sure we weren't given options but check in was quick and efficient. No view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
919 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,100 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $89 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing