We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like being in space” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like being in space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel was so much fun. I spent a lot of time changing the temperature of the room, flicking between colours of mood lighting and opening and closing the blinds at a touch of a button. The bed was huge, perfect for tossing, turning, and kicking out without waking my partner.

Maybe a little overpriced as you would need to pay in the canteen for even a cup of tea/coffe.

Having a choice of rooms was fun but be warned the "courtyard view " is overlooking the bins not much else so if you think you will stop playing with all the gadgets long enough to look out the window "city view" might be more appealing.

Staying here was a fun experience as a once off. I would stay again for a reduced/special offer price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,148
    1,275
    279
    100
    58
See reviews for
244
2,697
316
776
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I absolutely loved staying at this hotel. Everything from the key-card check-in check-out to the platform bed in my room was great. I really appreciated the light show on the shower stall that woke me up (instead of an alarm) every morning. Breakfast was adequate but what I really appreciated was the amount of comfortable lounge/workspace that let me and my visitors meet and discuss things without having to sit on a bed! It was fantastic and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced business hotel. Few amenities (like a pool or workout room) so don't do it on a holiday unless you are planning to do a lot of sightseeing. I will stay at the ones in Amsterdam and London - for sure!!

Room Tip: Very sunny - make sure you know how to operate the shades!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here just a couple of nights ago, very central location, very clean, quite quirky hotel for a reasonable price! Had a couple of French Martinis in the hotel bar, they were perfection! Definitely one to remember, I'll be visiting again! Oh and the bed is AMAZING!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
328 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have spent 5 nights at this CitizenM in Glasgow and have enjoyed my time here greatly.

Checking in was a breeze with self service check-in and a friendly assistant for those having difficulties. Note that you cannot pay cash but only with a card.

The rooms are not big but the huge bed compensates for that. As I did not spend that much time in the room I wasn't bothered although a couple might find the room a bit on the small side.

The rooms are high-techy with controls of lights, AC, TV, blinds all from a single remote. I like these things so I enjoyed playing them. TV also has a free selection of movies to be watched which was a nice added bonus.

The breakfast was not very big but had all the necessities in good quality.

A big thumbs up to the staff which was superb from the check-in people to the barista who also helped me with tips about the city.

Location wise the hotel is a walking distance from most of the city's attractions and a short walking distance to the tiny subway they have here and the main bus station.

I would warmly recommend this hotel to fellow travelers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uri_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently stayed a couple of times in the citizenm and what an experience! It was getting to the stage where iwas trying to find fault but I couldn't. For £80 including breakfast it's great value for money. The choice at breakfast caters for everyone, if you don't like their selection you obviously enjoy moaning! The rooms are not the biggest but are perfect for all you need with the mood lighting and electronic blinds making it that extra special. On the whole the staff are just as helpful, checking in was made easy and welcoming and the bar staff very good. Hector in particular was helpful, polite and generally couldn't do enough. On the whole a superb place to stay, good value and service second to none. Will be coming back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BN1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My fiance and I have stayed here twice now within a couple of months and all I can say is it is absolute perfection. The self check in is fast and easy and there is always one of the awesome members of staff there to help if you are unsure. The rooms are amazing - the biggest bed ever, with flatscreen tv (plenty of free movies - with something for everyone ;P ). The shower lighting is a lot of fun - pink, red, green, blue - whatever colour you want!! The rooms aren't big but they have everything we needed.

Typically, the bar is expensive but no different to other hotel prices. There are plenty iMacs if you need to use one and a fantastic book collection in the lounge area.

The hotel is simply stunning, however the staff really help make the hotel so wonderful. There is a girl with red hair who unfortunately I cant remember her name but she was so helpful and eagerly sorted out a minor problem for us at check in no problem. But the staff member who made our night on our second visit was Steven who was working the bar. Fantastic guy!! He really made our night fun - even made a special James Bond martini for my fiance!

This hotel is in a great location, close to shops and bars, and we cannot recommend this place highly enough - it's quickly becoming our second home. Reasonably priced and quite often Sundays are a steal!

We'll be back soon CitizenM!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockvicar, Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay it is so modern I felt I traveled into the future, the rooms were amazing and the bed, (what can I say) the most comfortable and largest I have ever slept in, the staff are so friendly and helpful, and a great breakfast to start your day and its central to all the fantastic shops more based towards couples I would say!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing