We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique modernist hotel experience at a great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unique modernist hotel experience at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have never stayed in a hotel like CitizenM before. Everywhere, the chic modernist design pervades, from the gorgeous lobby to the science fiction inspired bedrooms, where everything from the blinds, to the TV and movies and the coloured LED mood lighting is adjustable from the special remote control. The king size plus bed filled the width of the room by the window and was very comfortable, with pure cotton sheets and duck down divan. The "bathroom" is perhaps the most interesting feature. We called it "The Pod" - a frosted curved glass unit that sits to one side of the bedroom, lit from above by configurable coloured LED lighting. The full rainfall shower was a blessing. All this at a very reasonable price.

The only downside? No parking! Not even an assigned drop-off area. We had to park 2 blocks away, which involved having to drop off the bags first on double-yellow lines outside the front doors, with half an eye on whether a passing traffic warden would be disapproving of my maneuvre. Were it not for this annoyance, my stay at CitizenM Glasgow would have been about as perfect a hotel experience as one could imagine.

Room Tip: Use the Cambridge Street multi-storey for parking - two blocks away and only 1.50GBP overnight rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,146
    1,272
    279
    99
    57
See reviews for
244
2,692
316
775
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is probably more suited to the young and trendy, not for the older traveller. I certainly missed having a kettle in the room and downstairs the £1.90 for a cup of tea was exhorbitant. We did not bother with the breakfast which was over a tenner if you did not pay in advance and was not worth it, instead we down the road to John Lewis where we had better value. My friend and I did love the massive bed and had fun with the controls which controlled everything, blinds, different coloured lights in the room, air conditioning and heat, the bathroom was like a tardis and in the shower I got a shock as I had not noticed the overhead spray until it gave me a good blast on my newly blow dried hair (ugh), however it was fun, and staff were lovely..5 stars to them. nother good point was that it was close to the bus station and the theatre, we would stay again if we could not get into the nearby premier inn. Price was good, just missed the tea and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1summerholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Rooms are compact but cleverly designed and well kitted out. Great comfy bed, spotless bed linen, towels etc. cool lighting and fun to stay in especially for a short break. Only downside was trying to get served in the bar as the staff who were working very hard, but were tied up making cocktails so the rest of us had to hang about waiting for ages. Ideal for a day or two. Would do again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katethegreat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed unfortunately for only one night on a mini-break. We are totally hooked and would not consider staying anywhere else. The location couldn't be better and from the moment you walk through the door you are amazed. The decor is stunning - I could decorate my whole house a la Citizen M! I have also never stayed in an hotel where every member of staff was so friendly and helpful. We loved our room with all its quirky features and the bed was extremely comfortable. Great shower with super towels. Oh yes, the cocktails in the bar were great as well! We can't wait to go back. Hopefully Citizen M have plans to expand throughout the UK. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Always enjoy the citizenM consept. Easy, well laid out and special. The one in Glasgow are just as sentral as any other city senter hotel.The shoppng, restaurants and theaters are all nearby. The west end with more posh restaurants are a short taxi or subway journey away.

Room Tip: Was given an handicapped room, a big size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

If it wasn't for the price I'd stay here every time I come to Glasgow. Best hotel there! Great staff, great style and great stay! And if I had to be really picky and choose a problem it'd be the breakfast. Would prefer a full cooked!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent a week here, which was too long. The hotel is well located, easy to get to all the sights and train stations. The design is very cool, the rooms were well maintained, and the staff were friendly (if not always totally on top of things). But the rooms, while very cool to look at, are tiny, more like cruise ship rooms than typical hotel rooms. We would have happily traded some of the coolness and elaborate lighting and other fancy features, for a little closet space and more privacy in the bathroom. Instead, with 2 modest suitcases and no place for them, everything was constantly in the way. The average room rating is a compromise; they're really anything but average, but that weights the tiny size against the cool design.

We did also have one problem; they decided to clean the hall carpets on our floor during our stay, and for some reason decided the best way to notify us of this was to lock us out of our room so we would have to go to the lobby to talk with staff about it. A stupid approach (compared to leaving a warning note in the room), which they did 3 days in a row because the staff we talked to apparently couldn't keep track of who they had talked to yet. When we complained about it, they did give us a free breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Property: citizenM Glasgow
Address: 60 Renfrew Street (corner of Hope Street), Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing