We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting Burger”
Review of Metropolitan-bar

Metropolitan-bar
Ranked #624 of 2,895 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $0 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The award-winning Metropolitan cocktail bar, late night style bar, piano lounge and Scottish a la carte restaurant is situated within the Merchant Square, which is at the heart of the Merchant City, Glasgow’s cultural, fashion and food quarter. You can chose to enjoy a cocktail in our cosmopolitan bar, relax in the courtyard, dine on one of the balconies, admire the surroundings of the champagne booths or enjoy live music in our decadent piano lounge.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited today with a 2 course meal deal voucher. Service was very slow however it seemed to be the speed of the food coming out of the kitchen which was the issue as staff were working hard. My meal of chicken was OK, nothing to complain about but nothing to write home about either. My husband chose the Burger, it was disgusting and completley inedible, I really do not know what a chef would have to do to produce a burger so so dry and rubbery texture which I am sure could be bounced like a ball. It was unbelievable, I would think it had at some stage in its life been an overcooked hand made burger and resurrected today in the oven for a long while then served to the customer. We complained and the girl took the uneaten burger to show the Chef, she came back and advised she would not charge us for the glass of wine or the beer we had ordered which was all very well but my husband left the restaurant with only fries for his main course as the meal had already been paid for via Groupon and I therefore have to rate this as not good value for money either. We are both really feeling very angry that any restaurant chef could serve up that burger to a customer knowing how bad it was.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KP51Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 845 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2019

We popped in for a dinner and food was really good - tempura calamari and tattie scone nachos followed by scampi with a big salad and a feather blade of beef. All tasty and plenty on a plate. We had a small issue with cocktails not being served in time and when we asked for them (we finished our food by then), we were apologised by a friendly waitress, served our drinks and informed that they would be taken off our bill. Overall, it was a lovely experience and we had a great evening.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bogusza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed another 2 course meal deal.Excellent attentive staff,great food and lovely atmosphere.We will most definitely be back..

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Bazcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

Another very enjoyable experience at Metropolitan. This is one of our favourite restaurants in Glasgow city centre.
We had a table in the courtyard looking into the square, great atmosphere watching folks while enjoying a lovely meal and a very nice bottle of wine. Service is always efficient and friendly. We had a Voucher for this visit - fantastic value. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank ScotlandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

Just had a really nice birthday party and would recommend using this restaurant to others. They let my wife come in and decorate the table and we had a fixed price menu £25 for 3 courses.
Sometimes when choosing from set menus the food can be disappointing, but the food was gorgeous with everyone commenting on how nice it was. The staff were super friendly with genuine smiles which was nice and nothing was a problem for them even though it was really busy and they did not stop!
My wife and I eat here and it's always brilliant that's why she chose it. The only small complaint we had previously was it being too hot as the restaurant is upstairs. We could not believe it they even had an air condition unit this time so it all added up to a perfect night.
Thanks again to all the staff for being so nice and our compliments to the chief.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolitan-bar also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Metropolitan-bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing