We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Christmas lunch”

House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #216 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Designed by the famous Scottish architect Charles Rennie Mackintosh, it's one of the city's finest wedding and events venues also home to the popular Art Lovers Cafe and Art Lovers Shop.In the Art Lovers Café, we have a passion for good food and friendly service. Open daily 10am to 5pm, lunch served between 12pm and 4pm, it is the perfect location to ‘do lunch’.We have a great team of Chefs sourcing ingredients from local suppliers.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Super Christmas lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is actually my second visit here I went in the summer and ate outside which was lovely, had to write a review as our office Christmas lunch was superb. We had 6 people in our group, 2 of who visit regularly. Great choice from the menu and at a good price. Food was superb in all courses, beautifully presented, hot tasty, good quality food with good service. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3lauries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    82
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was in a party of 5 who visited ath Art Lovers Cafe for a family Christmas Lunch. The menu had 6 choices for each of 3 courses. We all chose to have a Main and desert. Each course was well presented and very tasty, testified by the 10 clean plates that were returned to the kitchen!
We had 2 Christmas Turkey, rump of lamb and 2 steamed cod all of which were excellent. Sweets were 3 dark chocolate torts and 2 creme brulles which were again eaten with great pleasure.
Service was friendly efficient and disceet. All in all an excellent meal at a time when so many festive meals elsewhere disappoint.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“About time I left a review of this fabulous place... Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have visted the Art Lovers Cafe on countless occasions and following their Glasgow Restaurant award this week for 'Best casual dining' I felt it was about time I added my review. I've going to ALC for around 7 years. It is part of House for an art lover within Bellahouston Park, which is gre at for taking a little stroll to let your lunch go down afterwards. The kids park is a highlight too (not your standard park and my little one loves it). Art Lovers Cafe really is a bit special to say the least. The setting, the food, the staff and just the overall experience always manages to feel you feel like you are having a bit of a treat. It's a fab place to take somone for their birthday or a special occasion or just because you fancy it! The menu is varied and caters to all tastes and pockets. I tend to go for the fish which is always perfectly cooked, the desserts are also a highlight and always look too good to eat, So pretty! You can also pop in for tea and cakes though or a light-bite. ~They also do a fab kids menu. All homemade and healthy which is a refeshing change. Drawing and crayons are also always provided so it really is a great place to take kids too. My Dad visited last year from the South of France and was so impressed with ALC that it was his first request when he came back to Glasgow this year (and we visited A LOT of places). The a la carte menu is as good as any retaurant in town and really is michelin star quality. I would say that it's a shame they only open for lunch, but at night you wouldnt get one of the nicest things - the huge arched window that looks out to the gardens whilst you eat. Lovely! I look forward to many more special meals at what has grown to be my joint favourite eatery in Glasgow (along with Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery). Keep up the good work ALC - I love ya!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank starrysonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crail, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Christmas treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed an excellent lunch here. The Christmas menu was available with traditional turkey on offer. The crab and trout salad starter was full of flavour. We opted for rump of lamb instead of turkey, it was cooked to perfection and was very tender. I had room for Christmas pud which was rather stodgy, the pannacotta which my wife had was deemed perfect!
Three courses with a glass of wine and coffee for just over £50, reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
689 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Best meal in Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had lunch here before visiting the House fer an Art Lover. Well the fare here is definately for food lovers. We had 2 perfectly prepared fish dishes. The ambiance was very comfortable. Service was efficient. If it weren't so far out of town, we would have returned for another meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to House for an Art Lover - Art Lovers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing