We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, lovely food, BUT...”
Review of Cranachan

Cranachan
Ranked #434 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $5 - $52
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Modern Scottish Cafe serving breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. Open for dinner on Saturday evenings. All food made using the best Scottish ingredients and freshly made in our kitchen. Serving homemade soups, cakes and modern Scottish fayre.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, lovely food, BUT...”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Visited here with friends for a late lunch and we all had the soup & sandwich deal (reasonably priced for the city centre). My soup & sandwich was delicious, as were our cocktails, but unfortunately one friend's sandwich was served on brown bread as opposed to white. This is an understandable mistake, and easily rectified, but seemed to have been due to the staff taking orders by memory rather than writing them down! Not so easily fixed was the fact that another friend's prawns were still frozen in the middle. Staff were apologetic and I have no complaints about my own meal, but a mistake as dangerous as still-frozen seafood puts me off going back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fi1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    95
    49
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Excellent local style menu.
Good quality food and wine
Can't fault it.
They even found my wife's phone !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I called in here for a bite to eat at lunch time whilst walking down the main shopping street. My husband's goat cheese and black pudding salad was delicious as was my poached salmon and cucumber sandwich. We enjoyed this so much we went back the following day and also managed a home baked cake for our dessert.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank STB4JAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hearty sandwiches”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and stopped here for a quick sandwich on Saturday.

The brown bread on both was thick and hearty and both sandwiches were stuffed with filling & came with a few crisps, coleslaw and a dressed side salad. Not gourmet but fresh tasty and very filling well worth a look at the rest of the menu if we go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great meal and service”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went with three friends and had the 5pm meal deal. Food was fabulous as was the wine,definitely worth the price. Our waitress was lovely ,would recommend and will certainly go back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranachan also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Cranachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing