We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, simply fabulous”
Review of Crabshakk

Crabshakk
Ranked #63 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Anderston
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing, simply fabulous”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had heard a lot about this place, booked a month in advance and was wowed by it. We went with friends and were slightly nervous to start as the table wasn't ready and we had to go next door for a drink. But that was because it is very small and they did call when it was. The staff are lovely and vey knowledgeable about the food. We love fish and eat out a lot and the food was AMAZING! I have to mention the queenie scallops in particular. Highly recommended and my favourite restaurant in Glasgow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BosuDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    224
    85
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

In our first day in Glasgow, walking down the streets, we spotted Crabshakk. A cosy, boutique restaurant. 10 minutes later we were back and decided to have lunch there.
The food (seafood) is fantastic. Fresh produce were delivered as we were sipping a beautiful Argentinian wine.
Gradvalax, smoked fish platter, white baits were delicious.

The staff was excellent too. At the end of our meal, we enquired for options for our dinner. In hindsight we were given the best advice we could hope for! Our stay in Glasgow was unforgettable because this gentleman at Crabshakk spent 10 minutes giving us advice and writing down some recommendations!
Thank you so much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Euskadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

2nd visit this year and just as good as the 1st.Staff all very pleasant and explanation of the menu and specials from the girl was excellent.Starter of crab cake lovely and John Dory beautiful.All four dinners had an exceptional meal and the atmosphere in the restaurant again is just relaxed and friendly.Staff play a big part in setting the atmosphere but the size and layout of the restaurant just lends itself to a relaxed enjoyable experience.FAB

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crabby heaven”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed surroundings. Cosy, small and intimate restaurant.
Delicious fresh selection of seafood. Whole brown crab and chips! Scampi and chips and red mullet with salad. Great choice of quality food. Perfect in fact!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tourtalk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enthusiastic and knowledgeable staff provide first class service even with the restaurant being close to capacity.

We enjoyed some fabulous oysters, queenie scallops in lobster butter sauce, king scallops in anchovy butter, langoustines beautifully presented and perfectly seasoned fries; you can't help but sample everthing everyone else is having because it is all soooo good!

We will definitely be back in the near future :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elleeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabshakk also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Crabshakk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing