We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not an enjoyable experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Pearl of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New Pearl of India
Ranked #1,511 of 2,388 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Eastern European
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not an enjoyable experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Decided to go to the new pearl of India for dinner tonight. On arrival the restaurant was very quiet we were shown to a dark cold table. What a major problem to be moved. Food was good but staff not helpful and indeed the dizzy waitress never offered the special offer so in fact we paid £12 more for the food. The wine was tasteless and not worth the £14 we paid.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    1
    3
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Great food, very tasty and worth the money however customer service could be improved.

We ordered a carry out and only one person working, we were left standing waiting to be served then while we were being served he would stop and answer the phone then also took payment for a table leaving the restaurant, it's only because we know the food is great that on this occasion we didn't go elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank kiwichick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Have been highly impressed by the New Pearl of India's takeaways we decided to go for a meal there. The restaurant was empty but the atmosphere was excellent, the staff extremely friendly and helpful and the quality of food was superb. Look forward to going back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food but service terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The food was actually quite good but to wait 35mins between starter and main was shocking. When queried all we got was 'its coming' more and more rude as time when on. Main course was cold when it finally arrived and when I asked for a discount or free drink I was laughed at. One to avoid if you expect better service.

No atmosphere and gas fires around the place to keep warm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gdeano12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good food and great location :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

went last week for meal with husband after the football, first we where greeted with very friendly and chatty staff and lead to our table, it wasnt busy but that didnt matter at all, the food was so good, portion size was huge!! neither of us could finish main course,we will definatly be back as could not fault it at all,and have recommended to a few friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeaC738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Pearl of India also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to New Pearl of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing