We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Koolba

Koolba
Ranked #26 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $44
Cuisines: Indian, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: KoolBa is a warm, modern, and inviting authentic Indian restaurant in Glasgow, located in the heart of the Merchant City. We have worked hard and KoolBa has now become synonymous with quality Indian and Persian cuisine. We have achieved this with our commitment to using the best local produce, fresh herbs, carefully selected whole spices, but above all offering genuine appreciation and care to all of our customers. We are committed to providing freshly made to order dishes to Glasgow's diners. Some customers enjoy switching between our Indian and Persian dishes with each course, and in particular, many of our regular diners recommend our homemade chicken pakora as a firm favourite, along with freshly made peshwari naan. Open for Merchant City Festival from 20/07 Monday Noon till the end of July!
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I had heard good reports about Koolba from work colleagues, so was in town on Saturday and decided to pop in for lunch.

Very nice inside, we were shown to a good sized table for 2.
Starters we both opted for veg pakora - have to say its probably the best veg pakora i have tasted - very fresh, nice chunks of veg in it, and the dipping sauces that went with it were superb.
Only 1 minor point i wasnt keen on - the set lunch menu only had chicken dishes or 1 paneer dish - i dont eat chicken and didnt fancy paneer so we had to eat off the a la carte menu. Not a problem but most places have at least one lamb option on all their menus.
For mains i went for Lamb Karahi, which was superb, big succulent chunks of tender lamb in a really tasty sauce. My partner went for spicy king prawn masala and that went down very well too. Shared a basmati rice and a fantastically garlicy nan bread - overall the bill came to just under £50 which is a bit expensive for a lunch but i felt the quality of the food made it worth it. Unfortunately there was a wee hiccup with their card reader machine being unable to connect and we had to nip out to get cash - not the restaurants fault though.

will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddad_Manager, General Manager at Koolba, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review you have left for us. I really appreciate it.

To address some of your points... you could have ordered a more preferable dish from our a la carte menu since you don't eat chicken. Was this something you considered? We would have happily made that for you.

We feel that we actually offer very good value to customers when you consider our location in the Merchant City, and, the quality of the ingredients and preparation of our dishes; we beat most other Indian restaurants in the UK hands down here. Thus, that extra quality comes at an extra cost.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,125
    259
    70
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“First visit, won't be the last. Excellent.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Wandered in on a Saturday afternoon, we hadn't booked in advance. We were given a pre theatre and the a la carte menus. The pre theatre menu had a good selection and looked to be good value but we both decided to order a la carte. We really, really enjoyed the food. We opted for to go for Persian type dishes instead of traditional Indian for a change and weren't disappointed. The Panir salad was excellent, really tasty and we had the kebab sharer, all the meats were cooked perfectly and all three kebabs were so more-ish. My partner ordered one of the more expensive wines on the menu, it may have been the owner or manager who came out and said it was a bit too cold to serve (it was red). It think this says a lot about the restaurant and staff, plenty other places would have just served it to make the money on it. We opted for a different bottle instead of waiting. The service was perfect, the waiter was polite and knowledgable. We weren't rushed at all but at the same time the waiter was there when you needed something. We will definitely be back, I'd like to try some of their Indian dishes next time - there was so much on the menu that sounded great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LozHammersbaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddad_Manager, General Manager at Koolba, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the very detailed review. I'd love to happily see you both wander in again soon! I'm very happy you tried the Persian bbq dishes, most people opt for our Indian cuisine first, but that just means you will have lots more to try from our menu over the next few visits.

Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Quality Indian/Asian cuisine”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

An enjoyable visit as always and good value with the 50% off loyalty discount currently offered to regular diners. (can be expensive without)

Very good cuisine well prepared and presented.

On the night in question service was a bit slower than usual, perhaps reflecting that the kitchen was busier than normal in the early evening, with regular diners taking advantage of the discount offer.

Accordingly as we were attending a concert in the City Halls opposite we had to forego dessert.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bwbGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddad_Manager, General Manager at Koolba, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the review!

Yes you are right, sometimes things slow up a little (like any popular restaurant) but we still like to ensure everything is made fresh, which is the difference between us and many other restaurants in the city.

Perhaps come back again soon when you have time to sample our desserts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Koolba”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have been going to Koolba for about 5years now and it was a terrific restaurant. I have been there twice in the last year and it has gone down hill so much in that time - from the service, information for customers if unfamiliar to the menu, courtesy, food (except the exceptional mushroom starter) and the price. The great staff that were serving don't seem to be there any more and it was very disappointing for what was paid. Also, they seem to be doing gimmicks including haggis which I do not think the clientele really wish - they are more sophisticated than that and would welcome more traditional Indian dishes(direct from India, not changed for the Scottish palette), if anything.


It saddens me as I always took visitors from England and Abroad to Koolba but I don't now.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank 646Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddad_Manager, General Manager at Koolba, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the review Jean, but, you have made some statements which are just incorrect. We aim to deliver on service every time. We do not slack. We receive awards for our standards. Yes, staff may move on, but we instill the same qualities in them as the ones that came before. So I do not agree with you that service has dropped.

Furthermore, we don't serve any haggis dishes. And, we do serve traditional Indian cuisine; our head chef is an award winning Indian chef!

Our regular customers will attest to the quality and authenticity of our offering, and will undoubtedly back us up on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Indian food with a difference”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Home of Glasgow's best Pakora and indian mains.. Served in a great atmosphere.
There is no place like it in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Dipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddad_Manager, General Manager at Koolba, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review, let us know when you are returning and who you are too! Thank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koolba also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Koolba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing