We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Indian”
Review of Koolba

Koolba
Ranked #24 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Indian, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: KoolBa is a warm, modern, and inviting authentic Indian restaurant in Glasgow, located in the heart of the Merchant City. We have worked hard and KoolBa has now become synonymous with quality Indian and Persian cuisine. We have achieved this with our commitment to using the best local produce, fresh herbs, carefully selected whole spices, but above all offering genuine appreciation and care to all of our customers. We are committed to providing freshly made to order dishes to Glasgow's diners. Some customers enjoy switching between our Indian and Persian dishes with each course, and in particular, many of our regular diners recommend our homemade chicken pakora as a firm favourite, along with freshly made peshwari naan. Open for Merchant City Festival from 20/07 Monday Noon till the end of July!
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Indian”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Really good food, if a little bit expensive. Nice decor, relaxed environment and reasonably attentive. Would definitely go back for a treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddad_Manager, General Manager at Koolba, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Diana,

Thanks for the really great review. Quality comes at a cost, our food isn't terribly expensive, but you'll certainly find a big jump in up in quality when you visit us over some other Indian restaurants within the city. We know our customers appreciate this and it is clear when you try our food.

Don't just leave it for a treat to come back. We'd happily welcome you back anytime, perhaps for our lunch or pre-theatre menu if you would like more value for money.

Thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    262
    71
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

First visit to Koolba, would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting Glasgow. Went with a group of 6 of us on a busy Saturday night, food was amazing and the staff couldn't have done more for us. Absolutely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddad_Manager, General Manager at Koolba, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Helen,

I'm pleased to read you had a lovely first visit and even better that you took the time to leave us a review. We were more than happy to accommodate you all and would again if you are ever back in Glasgow! Please make sure to look us up again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gower, Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Superb!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Amazing front of house combined with innovative dishes, the best kebab platter & pakoras I've ever had and strongly recommend their Special Goan Sea Bass curry, will be back whenever we can!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddad_Manager, General Manager at Koolba, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Kate,

Thank you for the review of KoolBa, we all really appreciate it! We have some more recommendations of dishes awaiting for your next visit! Until you are next back in Glasgow, please take care! We might even have a few new specials for you to try too.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pre - Theatre menu is a Hit!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Earlier this evening my wife and I visited our favourite Indian restaurant - to try for the first time their pre -theatre menu. We arrived at 6pm. and by 6.30pm it was all full except for one table. This menu clearly was going down well in the "curry capital"! At £10.95 for two courses it is a bargain not to be missed. In some restaurants you can expect these menus to be light on quantity,and indeed quality, not so here - I am pleased to say. We both had vegetable pakoras to start, and these were as good as ever , with a crisp, spicy hit which we washed down with a glass of Rioja. As wine lovers, we enjoyed the combination of flavours this provided, especially when we dipped the pakoras in the mango dip,a lovely fusion in the mouth. We also were given a yogurt based dip, enlivened with paprika,lemon juice and oil. This soothed the gorgeous spice hit in your mouth. For mains we both opted for the chicken boona with plain nan or Basmati rice
included. These were delicious ,with the portions just right to satisfy . As for the nan, we simply have not tasted better - anywhere. Round all this off with efficient ,friendly service and nice atmosphere and you have a bargain, and Glaswegians love a bargain!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billfish32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddad_Manager, General Manager at Koolba, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello Bill,

Many thanks for the detailed review, it is very much appreciated! I could not have described the food better and you are even selling our wine for us too! Thank you for that. We would not be here without great customers like yourself and we really do appreciate your custom.

Take care and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was my first time in Koolba, recommended by family. My expectations were high as my family members are proper foodies and I wasn't left disappointed with Koolba. We dined with the pre-theatre menu (2 course £10.95) as was attending Rod Stewart. The curry was just to my taste, was ample portion but could easily have eaten it over again, it was that tasty!! Will definitely be returning soon, keep up the good work Koolba :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddad_Manager, General Manager at Koolba, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello Gill,

Thank you for such a kind review of KoolBa. Delighted you had a nice time for a first visit and I hope Rod was good too! Thank you for complimenting our dish sizes and quality too. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koolba also viewed

 

Been to Koolba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing