We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Rumours Kopitiam

Rumours Kopitiam
Ranked #360 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My favourite place to grab lunch when shopping. Nasi Goering is fantastic. Salt and chilli squid highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cagedfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    80
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An little piece of Malaysia in Glasgow”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Okay, so it looks like a bog standard cafe from the outside, and there's usually a huddle of people by the door waiting for a table but don't let that put you off; head inside and discover a little bit of Malaysia right in the heart of rainy Glasgow.

It's a great example of substance over style - they've focused their efforts on the food instead of a fancy, swish decor and it's paid off. Malaysia was one of my favourite countries visited in SE Asia primarily because of the food and Rumours offers in my opinion, a really authentic experience.

Over the years I've worked my way through a fair chunk of the menu and so far have yet to be left disappointed. The Roti Canai immediately brings back memories of the bustling food markets in KL and the Malaysia Kung Po is crispy, spicy, sweet and mouthwateringly good. The Salt and Chilli prawns is another winner and the noodles and traditional laksas are also really tasty. They have a really healthy choice of vegetarian dishes too - both vegetable and 'mock' meat dishes.

Worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jellyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have often walked past this Malaysian cafe without bothering to venture in. That's to my regret.

We ordered the mixed starter which included the much maligned sesame prawn toast...maligned because normally it's so damn badly done. Not this time! Excellent prawn toast, good satays, passable vegetable spring rolls...and good value.

Mains were a Singapore mixed meat noodle soup and a plate of spicy Udon. Both were good...well, in fact, the Singapore noodle would feed four people...I dented maybe a third of it.

My wife loved the mango and sago drink whilst I put away a couple of Tiger beers.

Good value, quick service. Remember it's a cafe...so plastic tablecloths!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank josefk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A food treat at a super price”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having first visited this restaurant last Saturday (March 30th) I have since been twice again already so they must be doing something right. A good menu is always the key to success in attracting me as I don't want to eat the same thing time and time again and there are plenty of dishes on their menu that I haven't tried before. My squid addiction is well fed here as they do squid in japanese seaweed, which I hadn't tried before but adored - it was super-fresh and in the lightest batter; also had wonton noodle soup, shredded chicken with noodles, chicken kong pao (avoided the chillis as I'm a lightweight with spicy food) and sesame prawn toast - deelish! The meal including 4 drinks (two were alcohol) came to £38, which was outstanding! The staff are super-efficient and the place has a great Malaysian vibe to it, supported by the fact it attracted a lot of Asian diners. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJH666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Want to eat there everyday”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good variety of Malaysian dishes. Some adaptation to British tastebuds as the food was not as spicy as the original Malaysian food.

Reasonable priced. Clean cafe feel. My husband wants to eat there everyday and he still misses it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elliebouja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumours Kopitiam also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Rumours Kopitiam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing