We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do I know about Malaysian food?”
Review of Rumours Kopitiam

Rumours Kopitiam
Ranked #411 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,106 reviews
552 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“What do I know about Malaysian food?”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

All I know is that on my first visit there were many happy faces on people who looked as if they were far more familiar with the menu than me.
Huge portions of good food, cafe style and good service and price.
My addiction is "Curry Laksa", a coconut curry soup with noodle, prawns,pork and here clams.Elsewhere perhaps chicken and boiled egg etc. and it was very fine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    82
    20
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cafe vibe but with great food”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This restaurant looks and feels more like a cafe but don't let that put you off. We went for a friend's birthday on a Sunday evening. The restaurant was quiet but the food and service were excellent. The salt & chilli squid is a must. As well as a large range of options from the menu, they also have daily specials. Definately worth a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djhunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A taste of Malaysian food in the central of Glasgow”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went there almost everytime I visit Glasgow. Lovely little cafe, no frill experience, but the food was very good. The waitresses can be rather moody but when you get to know them, there are rather nice and friendly. Average cost for a Malaysian mean. Highly recommended if you want something different.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss
Level 6 Contributor
913 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Malay food in the centre of Glasgow”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

On the corner of Bath & West Nile Streets is the very authentic Rumours Kopitiam. Run by Malays, this cafe-style establishment serves up classic Malaysian dishes such as satay chicken, char kway teow and chicken & rice. It's a must for anyone who likes Malaysian food.

Prices are reasonable and they do a lunchtime deal during the week. The staff were very nice. They also sell Chinese food which I imagine also tastes pretty good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swedishtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I keep going back!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My title says it all. I keep going back because I always enjoy the food and atmosphere. It's very unpretentious the staff are courteous , friendly and accommodating. Great place to grab some food with friends.

The food is very tasty and not greasy which you find sometimes with this type of food. It's the sort of place that if you don't finish your food (the portions are pretty good) you think about it later wishing you'd finished it!

The menu has a great selection of food, there is something for everyone.

Get there and try it yourself, I bet you'll be on here afterwards giving it full points!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rumours Kopitiam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing