We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Italian Caffe

The Italian Caffe
Ranked #303 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Glasgow's first enoteca, The Italian Caffe is situated right in the very centre of Merchant City, offering fine dining and fine wines in a sleek and contemporary atmosphere. Intended to be a bit of a home from home, The Italian Caffe may be modern and upmarket but it's nonetheless cosy and welcoming, a place to relax and unwind after a hard day in the office. Take your pick from comfortable deep green banquettes, window side seating or a perch at the bar and settle in for an evening of chilled indulgence courtesy of your choice from The Italian Caffe's fifty-odd excellent and carefully chosen wines, both Italian and international. And though those fantastic wines form the backbone of the enoteca approach don't think for a moment that food has been neglected.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Will be back!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Me and my partner dined here and it was amazing, the food and wine was excellent. The service was totally fine, the food didn't take too long to come, or arrive to quickly, was perfect. The atmosphere was very intimate and cosy. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal, and will most definetly be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    125
    39
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quick service, but too quick to thoroughly cook the food!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner both ordered risotto. It was on the table inside of five minutes, and hardly cooked. The rice had not swollen and was still crunchy.

Shame really, cause the atmosphere, decor, and service was superb.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An enjoyable long afternoon”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Having read a number of previous reviews and checked the overall rating I'd say they give a very accurate assessment of the Italian Caffe. I had a protracted lunch (c. 6 hours) there with a group of 5 friends several of whom, myself included, have lived in Italy, the rest in Spain and all frequent visitors to both. We all thoroughly enjoyed the experience: all 14 dishes we had were appreciated with the Calamari being perhaps the only, not serious, exception. rather bland with too heavy batter. Portions were decent, Staff young and very attentive and pleasant. We drank a fair few bottles of the House red and white and both were very acceptable in quality and price. We did think the prices of other wines were rather pricy.

I'd readily go back a repeat the experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnydiScozia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great to go for both date night or family night, great food and great staff. Amazing selection of wines.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatout29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

There are so many Italian restaurants in this part of Glasgow, it was only by chance we ended up at this one.

The "pre theatre" menu was an attraction simply because the choices available went beyond the competition. Two small dishes for £8 or 3 for £12. These arrive like tapas, so if your table is organised enough you can get a huge assortment between you. I ordered a dish made from beans and sausage in a spicy tomato sauce (no, not Heinz beans and pork sausages) and a portion of mussels. My wife had haddock in a lobster sauce and a dish made from peppers.

Hard to find fault, but I'll try. I was disappointed to be charged for three slices of bread. And the small plates were perhaps just a little too small - depending on what you ordered. But overall still great value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McWulf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Caffe also viewed

 

Been to The Italian Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing