We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shandon Belles

Shandon Belles
Ranked #157 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $19
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: The Shandon Belles is a quirky and cosy bistro on Argyle street, conveniently located downstairs from Two Fat Ladies at The Buttery and only a stone's throw from the Marriot, Hilton and Hallmark hotels. Comfortable corners, stained glass and exposed brickwork add real character to the welcoming decor, creating a warm delightful ambience. Specialising in quality, hearty fare using great Scottish ingredients, our set menu offers superb value for money with seasonal choices to suit every palate. Daily specials, a competitively priced wine list, and a sumptuous cocktail menu, makes the Shandon Belles one dining experience you won't want to miss!
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was my second visit to the restaurant and I have been impressed both times. The food is great and extremely reasonable. The service is really good and the house wine is nice. The restaurant is in a bit of an odd location but I just jump in a taxi. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good Scottish fayre and service at a great price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    126
    35
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quirky interior, delicious food, fab staff”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We went here on a recommendation from a friend for a birthday lunch for my Mum.
It's not easy to find if you don't know the area but it is well worth finding.
It's down pretty steep stairs in a basement location filled with fab vintage china, ornaments, mirrors, recycled bits etc
Our waitress was so welcoming and explained the specials and took our drinks order quickly.
The food was so delicious and beautifully presented.
As a surprise for my Mum's birthday, they brought her a beautiful selection of micro desserts on a plate with Happy Birthday piped in chocolate. She loved it. Although she had no room left to eat it, they wrapped it for her to take home.
We loved this place and will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alliscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south lanarks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting interior”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Recently visited for first time, party of 4.
We were greeted well, coats taken away and service was excellent. Menu was interesting but I have to say I was expecting it to be fab but it was just ok. I and my friends were all disappointed as we had heard such good things about the place but it was very average. We didn't complain as the food was cooked and well presented, matter of taste I suppose.
Nice intimate feeling restaurant and hopefully just a bad day for the chef.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank destressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

After a bit of a struggle to find this place, which is in a bit of an odd location, and disregarding the somewhat strange exterior...have to say i was massively impressed with every aspect of the meal. Quality was second to none, staff were attentive but not over-imposing and value for money was excellent. The interior is a ...well...difficult to describe. But it works! Really cannot recommend this place highly enough! Try it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalFoodieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. Recently went with a friend and once again the food and service outstanding at such a reasonable price. Even a bottle of wine only cost £12 which is great compared to some places. I love the cosy, quaint, relaxed feel of the place. Staff never rush you but at the same time are always at hand to look after you. If you are looking for an up market restaurant with very reasonable prices then this is the restaurant for you. But sshhhh don't tell everyone!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shandon Belles also viewed

 

Been to Shandon Belles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing