We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shandon Belles

Shandon Belles
Ranked #144 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $19
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: The Shandon Belles is a quirky and cosy bistro on Argyle street, conveniently located downstairs from Two Fat Ladies at The Buttery and only a stone's throw from the Marriot, Hilton and Hallmark hotels. Comfortable corners, stained glass and exposed brickwork add real character to the welcoming decor, creating a warm delightful ambience. Specialising in quality, hearty fare using great Scottish ingredients, our set menu offers superb value for money with seasonal choices to suit every palate. Daily specials, a competitively priced wine list, and a sumptuous cocktail menu, makes the Shandon Belles one dining experience you won't want to miss!
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Found this restaurant on trio advisor and booked a table for four. When the taxi arrived I was a little surprised at the location... however go down the steps and you walk into a little oasis. The decor was fab, the food wonderful, staff lovely. All good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    126
    33
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
islay
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun - but the Buttery is better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a cosy, pleasant little restauarant in the basement below the Buttery. Both are run from the 'Two Fat Ladies' stable. It was pleasant enough, but having eaten in the Buttery upstairs I am not sure that I see the point. Maybe it is really cheaper downstairs, although I doubt that is the case if you can eat from the pre-theatre menu at the Buttery. I had a sardine starter and I think it was a cod main. Both OK.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank creavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had been looking forward to visiting Shandon Belles for quite a while and it didn't disappoint. Lovely little restaurant which was warm and welcoming on a snowy January day. Menu was great and the waitress was friendly and chatty without being intrusive. Would highly recommend and will definitely make a return visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little restaurant with fantastic service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

2nd visit to Restaurant yesterday and I was scared it wouldn't be as good as my first. How wrong was I!!!! Excellent food, drink and service. Total value for money. Definitely recommend if you like things like nice quaint things. I'm totally taken with the butter knifes and china tea cups :-)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ddhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Belles of Fire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just finished a wonderful meal in Shandon Belles in Glasgow. This restaurant deserves every plaudit heaped on it by previous reviewers. Those glowing reviews convinced me to book a table for my wife, my son, his girlfriend, my sister in law and myself. In every respect this was a quality experience. Congratulations to Alan and his staff for their hard work and attention to detail. We'll be back again on our next trip over from Belfast.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheShandonBelles, Manager at Shandon Belles, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi

we are so glad you loved your visit with us last night and look forward to being able to look after you again on your next visit! Remember the magic number! ;)

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shandon Belles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing