We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely main areas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blythswood Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Blythswood Square
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely main areas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Lovely Hotel! Main areas are beautiful, decor fab. Bedrooms I would say are more 4 rather than 5 star.
Any staff we encountered were very helpful. Cocktail Bar very nice. Breakfast could be very busy but just avoid busier times if that bothers you.
Would certainly go back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theeliisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    573
    208
    53
    26
See reviews for
232
1,380
75
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Having stayed here a couple of years ago for an anniversary I was very excited when my company chose the hotel as our christmas party venue. The hotel was as amazing as I remembered - the beds are absolutely massive and super comfortable, the bathrooms (hidden behind a sliding wall) are plush and contain the deepest baths I've ever sat in, and in general everything just feels so luxurious. We had booked a private room for our Christmas dinner and drinks and the meal was excellent. The next morning we ordered breakfast in bed and sat and watched a film from the free database - bliss!

Here's hoping we make a 3rd visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Just back after a weekend break in a deluxe room. Checked in early so room not ready but very helpful, took cases and called us on mobile. Noticed that didn't take time to explain where anything was and times for breakfast etc. first impression of room was good and had lovely views over the square although big condensation problem with some of the panes of glass. Spa is only available to residents as awkward times so booked a treatment and off I went. Not the best spa I have been in and some of the tiles are broken in the hydro pool. My treatment was late but very good. Strangest thing about the room was no plug anywhere near a mirror for blow drying my hair, pretty basic I would have thought. Mentioned this to reception and was told - yes a design fault, heard all about it before. Why then has nothing been done about this? Next issue - went to iron. The iron plug required some DIY and the cable is worn! We advised reception on the Friday, nothing done about this and mentioned it again at Sunday checkout. Shower can only be used if you want To wash your hair as central rain shower head only. Bath, all marked, chipped and broken marble making it quite dangerous for getting out. Bed was extremely comfortable so went to look at what kind of mattress topper. Amazed to see mattress ripped and stuffing hanging out! As many others have mentioned noisy music from bar until quite late. Now the food - breakfast was a rammy! Needed a lie down afterwards to get over the experience! Too many
People for size of restaurant and not enough juice, plates etc. someone needs to pay attention at all times to the
Buffet! Cheap sausages, sliced haggis and ordinary white toast only toasted on one side is not a 5 star experience. We also wanted to eat at 5pm on the Saturday before attending a concert so no plans to stay long. Restaurant was not fully booked at that time but later in the evening was at full capacity. Waiter tried to book us via computer but computer said no. He explained he would take my number, sort it out and call me- still waiting!! Again not how you treat a resident! Restaurant not that busy when we passed at 6pm!
Cocktail bar staff very attentive though and the same care should be undertaken at restaurant. Lacking in the overall experience which is a pity!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusLaw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have stayed in many hotels in the UK but this may be my favourite. Such a beautiful building in a wonderful square right in the West End and close to everything you want to see or do in town.

We had a deluxe room (birthday treat); the bed was amazing, the big marble cased bath was in its own little pod and the main shower room was beautiful black marble too. We appreciated the complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee and Tunoocks tea cakes!

The best thing though about the hotel though is the SALON - a stunning room looking over the square where we had a delicious afternoon tea (£22 per head a snip in a place as smart as this). Everyone was dressed well but were buzzing with a really relaxed vibe. The cocktails looked beautiful and as the evening wore on, it turned into a really cool place to drink with a really fun atmosphere. Glasgow certainly does 'friendly' and the staff were brilliant.

After eating the tea at 4.30pm we didn't eat again until our 10am breakfast! We didn't need to!

My whole feeling about Glasgow has improved with this visit - I think I may have been spoiled for good and will never be quite happy with any other hotel again. The only two that have come close to this are the Hilton in Cardiff and the Marcliffe in Aberdeen, but because of the Salon, this one comes TOP.

My only wee gripe was the music at breakfast...why bother?! At least it was just mournful ballad singers, not anything too crazy - but still....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Blytheswood offers top notch comfort, the bed was just wonderful, so comfy, had a fabulous nights sleep. Staff loped happy in their jobs, and were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble. A clean and well appointed hotel. This is just what a five star hotel should be, and we've been to some places that just aren't - we highly recommend if you're staying in Glasgow!!!

Room Tip: We were in a room on the first floor - lovely and what a delightful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We booked a midweek papmer spa break on a monday over to tuesday. Arrived on monday morning about 11:30 everyone from doorman to receptionist were so professional and helpful, they kept our bags as we were going down to use the thermal experience and get a massage before check in at 3pm. Spa reception again very professional and helpful. the thermal experience is out of this world, we went on a quiet day which was a bonus also. The massage was second to none, both myself any my wife had a fantastic massage. we visited as part of the "midweek papmer spa break" fantastic value and worth every penny. After the massage checked in to our classic room which was brilliant, room and bathroom to die for, i can only imagine what the penthouse must be like!!! the whole hotel is so clean and free of maintenance, the staff are brilliant, we had a lovely cocktail in the bar before dinner then the next morning breakfast was fantastic. Cant wait to return which we will do. well done Blythswood! only negative is £27 for valet parking a bit steep but didnt spoil our stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinfrancisbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here last week for an overnight. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated with a really big bathroom with separate walk in shower and high quality toiletries.The staff were very friendly and attentive to all our needs. The spa is amazing and well worth a visit ! We had agreat time and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Our room faced a small courtyard but you couldn't hear a pin drop for such a big hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing