We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I went for an overnight. The spa is amazing leaves you feeling super relaxed. There are various rooms to choose from, all of which are great. The rooms are gorgeous. The food was yummy, for dinner I had beef and it was the best I've had. We both had a full Scottish breakfast which was delicious. Would definitely go back and recommend it to others. Quite expensive but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,695)
There are newer reviews for Blythswood Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,695 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night in February 2014, and from the moment we entered, we realised what the fuss is all about. Yes, it's an expensive hotel, but these prices keep up the standards. The reception area glistened and the staff were genuinely friendly.

A classic double room is lovely, very comfortable and with an intimate ambience. Very rarely did we hear any noise from the rest of our corridor, so it appears quite peaceful too. The queen bed was massive and very comfortable, and had two large comfy seats at the foot of the bed, should you rather watch TV out of bed.

The marbled bathroom was dark and broody but gave an air of luxury. The bath was a great size for two, and perfect for a relaxing soak with champagne in hand.

We wandered down to the Spa area, the gym is on the small side with no treadmill, but the treatments are what it is all about. It looks a lovely relaxing area.

Breakfast was included, and although there was a buffet area, we opted for the full breakfast from the menu but found it particularly disappointing. If we had paid the price for such a breakfast we would have felt a bit ripped off. It tasted like a breakfast pack from any supermarket, nothing special or 5 * quality.

As we had plans for the night, we never dined here, but perhaps on our next stay we will.
We would highly recommend this hotel as a treat to yourself if it is usually outwith your budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a city facing view, some rooms face in towards each other, meaning you have to close your cu...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

In our dating days my husband and I always enjoyed a regular stay here. The service is great from the moment you check in to any queries we had through out our stay till the moment we walked out the door. I love this hotel, it's great to lie in the bath watching a movie, the rain shower is also amazing. The cocktails at the bar with its relaxed atmosphere were lovely and the food from the restaurant was excellent equally at dinner time and at breakfast. The spa was my favourite. The spa rooms are great with the dimming lights, the scents and the music. I love the great big dark jacuzzi, actually I loved everything on offer in the thermal experience and could happily live there if allowed. The staff really added to our experience and were always warm and welcoming each time we came back. We will for sure be back and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindslol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

After having stayed here before I wasn't all that impressed the first time round. But I must say that the restaurant and spa faculties really made our stay perfect. Would recommend to all ages as caters for all age groups. I will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happitots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Can't get enough of the bar! All the staff are so so so wonderful. Really nice and fancy inside, but it's understated, it's not over the top and not at all obnoxious. Pricey, but definitely worth it. At New Year's Eve the live band was fantastic. Can't wait to go back again in March!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inaniloquent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

After reading several reviews on this site we booked a two-night stay at the Blythswood. We were very disappointed with the condition of the hotel, it was visibly run down while the staff were doing their best to cope. The carpets throughout our floor visibly dirty and the hallway and rooms had an odd odour. At one point we were locked out of one of our rooms and told that they needed to get a locksmith in to open the door so we had to go out without our coats. While the decor is modern and stylish the hotel has not been well maintained and looks quite tired, especially when you look past the entrance. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating yet it took over 45 minutes to receive a single coffee from room service. If it weren't for the friendliness of the staff I would have given this hotel only one star.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 25Bea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed with a friend for a couple of nights whilst visiting Vettriano exhibition and doing the Mackintosh sites. Friendly staff and we didn't realise till we got there it has a fabulous cocktail bar with superb service especially from Khi. It was quiet one evening so he suggested cocktails especially for us. Concierge also very helpful. Good choice for breakfast and we had one evening meal there which was good, delicious lamb. Room was spacious and comfortable with generous sized bathroom.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank 77surreyhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
771 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,326 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $164 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing