We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in glasgow”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Was there with my wife for one overnight stay had use of the pool and saunas etc etc.
We had a meal in the place bit pricey to be honest but the meal was great,Would use the hotel again the staff were fantastic and very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macattack1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 2,724 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Excellent hotel the. Rooms are very nice min bar bathroom great.
Bar area and drinks great.
Breakfast was outstanding
2 min in walk to the centre off Glasgow for all the night life
Staff Great I will be back to stay soon well worth the money

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtelectrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent in every way. Room was modern and decorated to a high standard. Breakfast was included in our deal and was excellent - used the spa and the parking facilities. All staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We loved this hotel and will stay again the next time we are in Glasgow.

Highly recommended if you prefer higher end luxury hotels.

The interior is a fantastic blend of historic, classical and modern. The hotel restaurant has fantastic food and a very progressive menu for a Scottish restaurant, while maintaining some of the key local ingredients you want to experience while traveling.

The whisky selection is also very good, and the bartender was helpful picking out lesser known whiskeys.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is NOT on the first floor, as there is a bit of traffic at street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbennettbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the friendliest hotel staff I've ever come across. We stayed in a classic room which was a great size with a large bathroom. Breakfast, as always, was outstanding.
I would particularly like to mention one staff member, Liam, who works in the main restaurant. He shows an excellent knowledge of food and drink as well as impeccable customer service. If you come across him you'll be in good hands!
This was our second stay at The Blythswood and it won't be our last.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank girlsloveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was their with my work colleagues for pre Christmas dinner drinks. We were welcomed in, taken to a table, given menus, introduced to our waiter and our drinks order taken pleasantly and promptly. Our coats were also taken and when we left to go for dinner they offered to call us a taxi. Everyone was just lovely , not in your face but just spot on. Would recommend for drinks and/or dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairedwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Hard to know what to add to some of the previous reviews. Everyone will have a different perspective/experience.

My own view is that the hotel is torn between aiming for the older guests ie like me who expect a 5 star hotel to be oozing class in all aspects or aiming for the young trendy people with money to spend. I think the hotel tries to cater for all but falls short. Maybe the task is just not possible!

Our room was excellent (clearly we were either lucky based on other reviews or maybe because we were there for a week we were placed where we were). The food and service were generally first class apart from the service from the breakfast staff which was very poor and bore no relation to the high quality service in the restaurant at other times. Incidentally we recently travelled to Madrid and stayed in a lower starred hotel where the options for breakfast were far superior.

Personally I object to staff addressing my wife and I by our first names without invitation to do so but maybe I'm just old fashioned in this ?

Staff quality was uneven with some being top notch but others more befitting a 3 star establishment. Some staff training or perhaps better quality management needed here.

I'm being picky but a 5 star hotel charging high prices for good, drink and accommodation needs to be spot on.

Having said all this would have no hesitation in returning but would know exactly what to expect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garyabraham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
836 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,348 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $162 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing