We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed one night here and it was amazing. Reception staff are very friendly and welcoming. Room was very spacious, had a lovely big comfy bed. Bathroom was nice and big and very clean. Dined in the restaurant and the food was amazing. Lots of choice for breakfast too ad equally as tasty as our evening meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeanLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,558 - 1,564 of 2,724 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here to take advantage of there Sunday night deal. Second time in this hotel and found it to be every bit as relaxing as I remember. Did not use the spa but always something worth returning for. The staff at reception very friendly and confirmed our dinner reservation in case we wanted to dine later. The room was very comfortable and the bed just swallows you up, wonderful. The evening meal was nice and the staff very attentive. Breakfast was a comprehensive selection and the cooked selection made fresh to order .Cannot wait to return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time time to Glasgow as most of my business is in Aberdeen. The hotel was a refreshing stop on my journey.

We have a business lunch at the hotel and though one might argue the service was a little slow, the meal was wonderful. I was so impressed by the presentation of the hotel that I changed my reservations from another local hotel to this one ...and happy for it.

The rooms were comfortable and well appointed.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Bret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for 1 night in October, a great location in
Glasgow, the hotel is quite understated from the outside-you had to look quite hard to find the name plate!
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful without being pushy or 'in your face'. Our room was very comfy, if a tad dark-might have had something to do with the tweed curtains! The bed was huge and very comfortable, we had a great nights sleep. The all marble bathroom was most impressive and spotlessly clean. We spent a very happy hour or so in the upstairs cocktail bar and found the bar staff very knowledgeable. There was a wedding party taking place in one of the function rooms but we heard no noise or disturbance at all. Our only gripe was the cooked breakfast which was a bit too dry and not very generous however all the other breakfast choices more than made up for this. All in all a very pleasant stay - not the cheapest- but you pay for what you get and we thought it worth every penny. If we find ourselves in Glasgow again we won't have any hesitation in booking here again, next time we will try not to be ion such a time schedule and try out the spa which looked excellent.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank vicki36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was one of my most horrible experiences. Staff was rude. Room was filthy and I am not sure if they even gave us fresh sheets. I can go on and on, but I will leave it at this. Trust me, DO NOT SAY at this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brabus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Blythswood in Glasgow. It is a nice hotel but has a few issues for us. Firstly the smell of cooked food as you walk in to the main bar is not good and the carpet is looking very old, perhaps making the smell worse. The breakfast in bed, normally a treat for us was very poor, and it was a shame we could not drink late at the bar or get any snacks after 2am on a Saturday night, i thought it was a 24hr hotel.

The good stuff, the staff, (apart from the late night person that told me off for eating my room service sandwich at the bar), very helpful with parking the car, bar staff very friendly, reception very helpful, nice building, rooms good.

Room Tip: Don't pick a suite like we did, very expensive for what you get and the room lights are impossib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanConnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on 26th Oct 2013. We had booked one of the least expensive rooms, and didn't expect it to be as fantastic as it was!

We were in room 407 which had a king sized bed, couch, open plan marble bathroom, wonderful toilteries and was a real treasure to walk into.

As ever, the staff are a credit to their profession, and the breakfast the following morning was absolutely fantastic. The cold buffet was well stocked, Serreno Ham, and ingredients to make your own bloody mary, were just two of the touches that set this place apart from the rest.

If you're going to stay in the city, pay a little extra and stay here, it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
836 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,348 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $162 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing