We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with great breakfast and spa”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for one night to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary as we had our wedding reception at the hotel in its former shape as the RAC. The hotel gave us a lovely chocolate treat for our anniversary. Booking and check in were stress free. The bedroom was great with a very large bathroom. We visited the Spa as we had booked a Spa break and enjoyed using all the facilities (pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi) as well as the massage treatments. We did not have dinner at the hotel - instead we went to Browns in George Square - but we did have breakfast which was great. I would certaintly stay here again if the opportunity comes round again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotswaehae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,564 - 1,570 of 2,716 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed recently to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was a real treat! Hotel was of a very high standard and the staff were excellent - so helpful and friendly. I loved the contemporary use of Harris Tweed throughout giving the hotel a luxurious feel. This hotel is a level up from others in Glasgow with it's attention to detail which is reflected in the price but it is worth the extra for a treat/special occasion. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it to others who appreciate the finer things in life!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memac-mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our second visit to this wonderful hotel which is situated in an elegant old heritage but completely renovated building in the centre of Glasgow.
We enjoyed it just as much as the first time we stayed there a couple of years previously.
The service is phenomenal, the rooms very modern and comfortable and the meals first-class. Would definitely recommend it to anyone who is visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doochie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place is out of this world. We went for one night and wished we were there for a lot longer. It is stylish, modern and very clean. We booked spa treatments while staying and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Worth noting that on the day of your treatment they sometimes have special offers but only if there are times left. We were so relaxed I could barely move! The rooms were spectacular. Huge beds, marble bathrooms, giant tub with the added bonus of seeing the tv while relaxing in bubbles! If you want to treat yourself and have something that little bit special this is the place for you. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveaholiday88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed for one night whilst on business, price was very good which included breakfast. The hotel is in a good location on the square in easy reach of restaurants and shops. Check in was quick and easy and the reception area felt quite elegant with a hint of modernisation. My room overall was very nice but first the downside, the room was very dark, lights were very dim, it was on the ground floor which is basically the basement with a window facing inwards and looking at all the other rooms with very little natural light. The AC didn't work very well so the room was very hot throughout the night, I did ask someone to look in to this but that never happened however the lady on reception (Wendy) next day was very apologetic and has followed up since which doesn't happen often! The room had a powerful walk in shower, very nice bath which you could open up a hatch and watch TV, nicely marbled floor to ceiling, nice toiletaries, and lots of towels. there was good tea and coffee facilities, TV with plenty of channels and a big comfortable bed. I didnt use any facilities just the bar for evening snack and glass of wine or two. The bartender was excellent, he was very professional and chatted whilst doing his work, the food was good and nothing was too much trouble. the lounge and bar area was relaxing, I could quite happily entertain and chat with friends here. This is the same place you also had breakfast. Breakfast layout was well supplied and had a hint of fresh local food served through out. the cooked breakfast was as asked however slightly small portions. Check out was quick and easy. A very nice hotel, if it was a bette

Room Tip: ask for one off the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keegan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Have stayed here before and recently went for winter afternoon tea - couldn't fault it - staff were so nice and helpful, recommended cocktails and other drinks and really knew their stuff. The chefs were happy to provide a vegetarian option which was appreciated. Would certainly return - a true piece of glamour in the city!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahDFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Thought my wife and I would try the market menu lunch priced at £18.50 for two courses. .very limited choice 4 starters and4 mains . Supplements galore
Service good but food only average. Left my coley fish pretty tasteless.
Waitress didn't bother to ask if there was a problem
Disappointed to say the least. Will not return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank karylaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
822 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,345 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
3,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $162 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing