We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just very recently visited The Blythswood hotel for a wedding and wow what a fantastic hotel it is, the staff are so helpful and friendley nothing is too much trouble for them . The rooms are something else they really impressive very large in size. The bar/restuarant was also of very high quality with very nice furnishings.
The food was to a very high standard with lots of choice. If you were looking to stay somewehere in Glasgow well look no further and stay at this excellent hotel you will not be dissapointed also if you were thinking of holding your wedding there again it was truly amazing, everything was just to perfection. We travelled along way for this occaison and was very impressed with everything.

Room Tip: Every room is of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,624 - 1,630 of 2,766 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute for only a night due to travel agenda changes. The staff at the Blythswood were more than helpful and accomidating. Infact they assisted us with making all our travel changes and walked us to a near by resturant.

The rooms are modern with all amenities. The beds...were so comfy I don't remember anything other than a wonderful sleep. We didn't have the opportunity to check out the hotel bar or dining..both said to be wonderful.

We've already planned a trip back to Glasgow and the Blythswood.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a wee room with bed and breakfast. Common parts were immaculate - the hotel was converted from the old Scottish RAC building and has been tastefully converted. Excellent location close to city centre and seemed very safe to walk around at night. Rooms were small and slightly odd layout but well appointed with a comfy bed and lovely bathroom. Only Downside was there was No wifi signal in room and the ironing board in the room was soiled and not usable.
Other than that everything was very good. Probably closer to 4 star than 5 star but for the money it's very good value. Would recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonSeagullfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

From the moment you step into this hotel the service is first class , This was our second stay and after checking in and putting bags in room we went straight to the bar , As soon as we walked in the bar man knew us !!!!!! Now that is what you call service , We had an early evening meal as going to a concert food was amazing service quick and staff lovely , We came back after concert to be greeted by bar staff asking " Did you have a good night how was Bruno Mars " we had a few drinks and chatted away to the fab bar staff , We used spa in morning before breakfast this is a must if you stay , Breakfast is fantastic lots of choice , All freshly cooked to order , Can't wait to go back !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennypocket77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a really lovely hotel. It was our first time to Glasgow and we couldn't really have asked for more. The staff were very helpful and warm and our room was great too. Comfiest hotel bed I've slept in for a while! Lovely little walk to the main attractions. We had a beautifully cooked meal in the restaurant and enjoyed drinks after. Would like to go again and try out the spa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We try to stay at the Blythswood every three months, when visiting Glasgow. The hotel never fails to let us down. The reviews on here are 'almost' on the money. I am a fussy person, and there are certain experiences about the hotel, I hope you accept my word on them.

The spa without doubt, is fantastic. Can be slightly chaotic in the locker rooms, if you're using the spa as a room guest after 18:00hrs, but to be honest that's surely to be expected when they've had a hectic day with groups paying for the spa?

I agree with some guests regarding the dining, but not the service. The chef could do with rotating the menu, more often than he does. The service is fantastic though and cannot fault them.

The concierge dept are always ready to help.

We find, the basic deluxe rooms facing the courtyard offer the best peace and quiet.

We always have breakfast in the room and we cannot fault it -always on time, hot and top Scottish produce.

This hotel is far superior and much better value for money, than other hotels trying to be a 5 star in Glasgow and Edinburgh and many European cities.

Room Tip: Facing the inner courtyard - no street noise! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corbarron1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

After finishing work at 4pm on Sunday we quickly got ready and checked into the Blythswood Hotel. We had a gorgeous room overlooking the square, the marble bathroom and fireplace were especially eye catching.
We had booked dinner for 8:30 so decided to get a cocktail in the bar beforehand. The staff were very knowledgable and personable, helping to navigate the large menu of available drinks. I had a Penicillin which was very zesty and refreshing.
Dinner was a continuation of this great service. This was a treat night so we went all out having scallops steak and cheeses. The meal was beautifully cooked and nicely balanced flavours that went very well with the wine that was suggested.
Following a great nights sleep we headed to breakfast at about 9. We were welcomed and seated promptly, offered coffee and left to examine the beautifully layer out buffet of cold foods and cereals. After some fruit salad and yogurt I took advantage of the plated breakfast and enjoyed poached eggs and smoked salmon.
To complete our holiday from Glasgow we went to the spa where I had a firm but relaxing deep tissue massage. Following this by an hour or two in the spa facilities I left the Blythswood on a blissful cloud having been looked after by every member of staff impeccably.

Room Tip: The view from the rooms over the square is worth that bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
889 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $151 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing