We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Hotel is truly lovely, the bedrooms are very comfortable and chic, the cocktail bar takes you back in time, to a more elegant era, people drinking cocktails and having beautiful high teas. Dinner in the hotel was a bit dissappointing, perhaps we should have chosen from the A La Carte menu instead of the set menu. But overall the hotel and staff were great.

Room Tip: All rooms looked of the same standard (very good)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHughes1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,728
    593
    218
    56
    27
See reviews for
250
1,435
76
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Me & my fiance stayed at the blythswood for her birthday weekend & we both loved it very much. On arrival we were in reception for no longer than 10 minutes before being checked in & shown to our room. The room was lovely & everything I had ordered was there waiting, ie champagne, roses, chocolates. The roses were beautiful & my fiance was very pleased with them. The chocolates on the other hand were not so nice, they were ok but personally I wouldn't say they were worth £25 I guess that's just personal taste though. The bathroom was absolutely stunning, beautiful dark marble with a lovely shower. The shower gel, shampoo & moisturizer were good but I wasn't keen on the snell. Our room was 310 & if I was going to be very picky there were 2 holes in the ceiling above the bed that had been covered but it wasn't a good job, it was like it had been taped over then painted. The only other thing was we had a tiny window in the corner of the room & it would of been nice to have something a bit bigger. All in all everything from the food to the spa was spot on & I would love to stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonlee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zgoldi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a bit of luck staying here..what a great surprise! Nice concierge, nice housekeeper, nice breakfast ..with a very nice breakfast lady who had a sense of humor..one needs that after a long flight...I especially liked the formidable drapes in my room... and the fringe on the chandeliers in the bar...I would have enjoyed a park view but this was not in cards..I had a lovely view of a sandwich shop...tres chic..will ask for park view in the future...but I digress. The place is lovely, efficient,eclectic, dare I say quirky? Yes, Quirk can be pricey...but it might be worth it ...

Room Tip: Please get the park view... remember...the Queen does not overlook a sandwich shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for one night in September as a wee treat to ourselves, and enjoyed every second of our stay. Amazingly comfy bed with lovely linen and the best pillows I have ever had, and the decor made it feel very luxurious. I know what other reviewers are saying about lack of daylight, which I would agree with, but for us this isnt a problem. We are out most of the day and on return to the hotel just want to relax. We were annoyed to forget appropriate attire for using the pool etc. which looked just lovely, we will make sure we make use of it next time.
We had a couple of cockails in the bar at night, and they were some of the best I have had, lots of care and attention taken to make, and it was worth the effort. Top of the range spirits used which always makes a great drink.
The breakfast options were endless and of the highest quality, we sampled some of the continental option and then had a hot option, all of which we could not fault, delicious.
This overnighter was a treat, and it certainly felt that way. The staff on check in were fast and friendly and our luggage was taken to the room for us. The service was excellent but friendly and not snooty like some other 5 star establishments we have stayed at, where service has been too staged, and uncomfortable. The perfect balance.
My favourite part had the be the ridiculously comfy bed and the rainfall shower with nice toiletries. We will be back again I am sure.

Room Tip: We had a room classified as a wee classic room and it was more than adequate for us, the view wasnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night & decided to pay extra for a deluxe room. It was beautiful & huge! Looked directly onto the Blythswood Square. Luxurious furnishings including a beautiful cashmere throw on the bed.
Didn't eat dinner here as we were attending a function elsewhere but we did enjoy spending time in the Salon cocktail bar before & after. Delicious cocktails. Lovely breakfast in the morning. All staff were professional & friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will definitely return again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
372 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here

We arrived early and the reception desk / concierge were more than accommodating and took in our bags and popped them into our room for us. The restaurant and bar are lovely, the staff were great and the bed and sleep quality in our room were superb

The breakfast was very good, but had room for improvement (better croissants and warmer food temperature) - but i am being a bit over fussy here and would happily have breakfast there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Excellent hotel in great location. Large Comfortable rooms and very comfortable bed. Checkin easy and swift, concierge very efficient. But most of all, all the staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Restaurant was excellent, lovely dinner and breakfasts. Spa was also great, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
616 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,801 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,032 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Property: Blythswood Square
Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing