We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Have stayed here a few times on business trips. I have always had a good experience. .The staff have always been great. The beds are very comfortable and all the rooms I have had have a relaxing home from home. The food is also good although it is a bit tempting to eat too much of what might not be so good for you! recommend the breakfast! Didn't make much use of the spa so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,853 - 1,859 of 2,796 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed overnight on Saturday after having dinner in the restaurant. Our meal and a lovely bottle of Prosecco was a gift, so we thought we'd treat ourselves to an overnight stay. We were so glad we did as the room was absolutely stunning, The bathroom with its deep bath and open and close 'hatch' into the bedroom was a clever design, very 'different'. The hotel is most definitely deserving of its stars. Every staff member from reception, porter, concierge, waiters ... were all friendly and gave excellent service in whatever they were doing. Areas were immaculate wherever you looked. Our evening meal ( market menu) was delicious, and presentation was beautiful. Breakfast was also excellent. The selection was good, and included a corner where you could mix yourself a Bloody Mary if you wished! (we've never seen that anywhere before on a breakfast selection!!). The only downside was parking as Glasgow council have recently increased parking tariff rates on the meter outside to £3 an hour, with a 2 hour maximum stay. There is a cost up to 6pm (Mon - Sat) so as we checked in at 3pm we had 3 hours to pay till 6pm. We paid for 2hours ( the max stay) & had to make sure we were back in time to pay for the last hour up to 6pm! £9 in total. No fault of the hotels of course but something to bear in mind if you;re taking your car when you stay. We will definitely be back for a meal & will have another overnight stay from time to time as well. Bit pricey to stay often but we'll definitely be back for a further treat every once in a while. We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergiex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Blythswood Square is very centrally located and within walking distance of many attractions, restaurants, shopping, etc. We spent five nights there recently and cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. From the moment of our arrival every member of the staff seemed to go out of their way to make our stay memorable. David, the concierge/bellman, was fantastically helpful, as were other staff members.

We don't drink and never had time to use the spa. The breakfast buffet and menu offered more than ample quality food. We ate dinner out every night.

Our room was beautifully decorated with Scottish motif Harris tweed drapes, and herringbone carpeting. The pièce de résistance was the exquisite Johnston of Elgin merino wool throw on the foot of the bed. I fell in love with it and ended up buying one.

When we experienced minor issues they were corrected immediately. The hotel has a well deserved five star designation from the Scottish Tourist Board.

If we ever have reason to return to Glasgow, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusMacTavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My friend and I had a spa day with overnight stay. What can I say, fantastic! Spa facilities great, very relaxing afternoon. Checked in at 1pm and room was ready. Twin bedroom very large and beautifully decorated. Didn't stay for dinner but breakfast was included which was superb. Staff very friendly and polite. Would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank kinrosslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

High end amenities with nicely appropriated rooms. We arrived early and were able to check-in early. The hotel is located in the heart of Glasgow, walking distance to everything that you would want but located on a quiet street surrounded by the beauty of the city. Very nice rooms with an extremely comfortable bed.

We had one issue during our stay in that our air conditioner did not work. The staff worked quickly to resolve the issue but unfortunately they had to put a portable air unit in the room. They would've changed our room but it was late once we returned and were checking out the next morning. The staff apologized & discounted our bill for the inconvenience.

The whole staff was simply amazing but the gentleman at reception who checked us in, helped resolve the issue, and checked us out was amazing. He should be highly commended.

We anticipate returning to Glasgow one day and look forward to another stay at this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I travelled up from London for a two night stay as my friends wedding was being held at Blythswood Square.

The hotel staff in all areas that I visited/used were welcoming and very helpful.

Our twin room was one of the best I have ever stayed in, comfortable and stylish. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave it. Breakfast was tasty and a great selection. Mimosa's were a must for me and my friend to start our wedding day experience.

For a wedding location, I would highly recommend it. It was one the best weddings I have attended for location and experience.

A fantastic stay.

Room Tip: All rooms that I visited were as good as each other, including a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have stayed at a variety of hotels across the world and not many can compare to Blythswood.

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary just before Christmas and I can't think of a negative comment to make. Check in was seamless and faultless, the room was fantastic, comfy bed, large room and bathroom, great shower and all other facilities.

We had a treatment each in the spa and used all the steam room and various pools and were not disappointed. Everywhere was clean and well presented, and all the staff were courteous, polite and welcoming.

We had drinks in the bar and the bar staff were brilliant to us (we were sat at the bar itself). Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and delicious.

All in all, we couldn't have asked for more for our wedding anniversary and we would rush back if we could afford it...!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
919 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,132 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,538 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $152 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing