We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spa; sample this hotel on the Square deal package.”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the square deal package at this hotel back in November 2012. The Spa is the highlight of this hotel and definitely worth a visit - lots of different spa rooms to relax in, and great ambient lighting. The bedroom we were in was a standard room - not the biggest - but it did have nice contemporary decor and a good sized bathroom. Our bulb in the bedside lamp was broke, and our pitcher of beer was missing in action, but both minor issues were resolved very quickly by the efficient reception staff. I'd describe this hotel as bustling - it's in the heart of the city, and attracts a range of people for drinks post work, cocktails early evening and staying guests. Our meal as part of the DBB package was lovely - the restaurent was full - and we enjoyed drinks on our return to the hotel at the end of the evening. Breakfast was good - eggs benedict were to a high standard. I've had a friend comment to me that they'd heard mixed reviews of this hotel, however our experience was positive and I would return. The spa would be fab for a girlie day out with friends. Overall I think it's a hotel worth going to, and it is good value to try it out on the hotel's "Square Deal" package.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,912 - 1,918 of 2,828 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The Spa is brilliant and well worth a visit. Room good, especially bath, but ventilation poor and not much isolation from noise of traffic outside. Cocktails excellent but food only average. Overall good value on Hotel's "Square Deal" package.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a great time here, lovely room, great service, great food and pleasant staff. In a good location, parking nearby - a pain having to pay for parking but of course to be expected so central in a city. Beautiful views over the square and the spa is to die for. Will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviews766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at this beautiful hotel for one night in early April. I was traveling alone and had never been to Glasgow. I had booked a spa appointment and was treated to a heavenly experience. Don't hesitate to indulge - it was so relaxing and helped with jet lag immensely! After traveling from the States it was just what I needed. Everyone at the hotel was helpful and the service was great. However, Tom, the Concierge, truly went above and beyond the call of duty. First, he arranged a car for me to travel to Oban since the train schedule was not conducive to my travel plans. Then when I accidentally left my travel portfolio at the hotel, I called Tom and he tracked it down for me and had it overnighted to my B&B in Oban. My worries were put at ease, and it was such a relief and allowed me to enjoy the next stop on my trip. I can't wait to return to Glasgow and of course, to Blythswood Square.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night , 2nd time here.
Lovely Room, great food.

Bar has very nice atmosphere and wide range of cocktails.

Staff very friendly and helpful.
A bit of Luxury !!!
Spa facilities are brilliant with really good facilities !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel on a recent trip. Rooms were large, the service was great as was the food; I had a TV dinner in my room on arrival and breakfast. If I were being picky, I had a room on the ground floor at the front of house and it was a little noisy when cars passed; that said my stay very relaxing. Perhaps a bit on the pricey side but would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek_Power1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Blythswood last year and although the experience is what I would describe as "average" we decided to give it another try.

Pretty big mistake. The staff, as last time, are very pleasant and polite but the service is impersonal. It is a bit like staying in a large Hilton or Marriott property rather than a boutique place. In my view it is personal service and individuality that makes a place like this different and it doesn't really have either.

The first room we were given was dark, dingy and with bars over the windows. It was like a prison cell. Fortunately they moved us to another room but if you are unlucky enough to be stuck with one of those rooms somehow your "five star" experience won't meet expectations.

The worst thing about Blythswood though is how much you feel ripped off at every turn. Let us take the simple example of water. Tap water in the room is totally undrinkable and they charge you for mineral water. One Devonshire Gardens don't by the way. My partner asked for a bottle of mineral water with his breakfast instead of tea or coffee and they had the audacity to put a bill for it on the table when they brought the water over. I have stayed in a few five star hotels in my time and you do expect to pay a lot of money for things but this actually oversteps the mark and gets into genuinely bad service.

Overall I can see people have been impressed by this place but for me it really doesn't deliver what it should. I will stick to One Devonshire Gardens from now on.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonofGandTNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
969 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $157 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing