We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff. Good food.”
Review of Blythswood Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blythswood Square
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel on a recent trip. Rooms were large, the service was great as was the food; I had a TV dinner in my room on arrival and breakfast. If I were being picky, I had a room on the ground floor at the front of house and it was a little noisy when cars passed; that said my stay very relaxing. Perhaps a bit on the pricey side but would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek_Power1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,697)
There are newer reviews for Blythswood Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,788 - 1,794 of 2,697 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Blythswood last year and although the experience is what I would describe as "average" we decided to give it another try.

Pretty big mistake. The staff, as last time, are very pleasant and polite but the service is impersonal. It is a bit like staying in a large Hilton or Marriott property rather than a boutique place. In my view it is personal service and individuality that makes a place like this different and it doesn't really have either.

The first room we were given was dark, dingy and with bars over the windows. It was like a prison cell. Fortunately they moved us to another room but if you are unlucky enough to be stuck with one of those rooms somehow your "five star" experience won't meet expectations.

The worst thing about Blythswood though is how much you feel ripped off at every turn. Let us take the simple example of water. Tap water in the room is totally undrinkable and they charge you for mineral water. One Devonshire Gardens don't by the way. My partner asked for a bottle of mineral water with his breakfast instead of tea or coffee and they had the audacity to put a bill for it on the table when they brought the water over. I have stayed in a few five star hotels in my time and you do expect to pay a lot of money for things but this actually oversteps the mark and gets into genuinely bad service.

Overall I can see people have been impressed by this place but for me it really doesn't deliver what it should. I will stick to One Devonshire Gardens from now on.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonofGandTNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend, for my sisters in law's wedding.. It didn't take us long to say 'great choice'!
The hotel is in the city centre opposite a attractive green square.
Check in was always welcoming & helpful, as was the ever attentive bellmen, our room was seriously impressive, with stunning panelling around a unusual window opening and romantic option to the finally fitted out ensuite bathroom. The large 'rainhead' shower head made us want to fit one at home.
The wedding was in the nicely done out panelled basement rooms, with its moving walls and a well kept bar.
The bed was a little soft for us, and they seemed to be having a problem with the room key system, which they were very apologetic about, on a couple of occasions someone would accompany us up to the room to make sure we got in ok.
Breakfast was outstanding, especially the amazing cold buffet area.
Overall all I'd say this was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed, with apart from what I've mentioned above nothing else that wasn't perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Blytheswood Square Hotel. The service was outstanding. We spent a lovely afternoon in the spa and had a late lunch and a few drinks. The room was a good size with a lovely bathroom and great facilities. We spent the evening out of the hotel, but have ate here before and it is normally an excellent meal. We had a late breakfast, which was great and a late check out. All in all a very relaxing, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great, friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms and bathrooms, but the breakfast let me down a little. As I needed to get away to a meeting, I helped myself to the buffet, but the tea and cooked bits took too long that I nearly left without having any.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gohlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We recently stayed in the Blythswood Hotel recently on one of their deals. The staff at reception were extremely helpful when we arrived and they could not do enough for us. Our room was beautiful, overlooking the square. We used the Spa facilities and my only comment would be that it was a bit gloomy! Dinner was good but we felt that the staff were not very friendly (no chat) and that the food arrived very quickly with no time in between courses. My breakfast was a bit cold and handed it back to the waiter - would need to say that it came back cold again but with a very hot plate! Would be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Although the hotel is beautiful and in a good location, I was shocked by the poor level of customer service in relation to a complaint. I had booked two twin rooms for my 40th birthday celebration only to find that I had been provided with double rooms on arrival. The hotel has repeatedly refused to admit its error although I could not be more certain of my ground! In addition, an upgrade arranged by my friend's brother was so poorly administered that she did not get the opportunity to stay in the suite! It had however been spoiled by the need to utilize the sofa bed that was extremely uncomfortable! I have yet to receive a proper response to my letter of complaint - instead the hotel has ignored my circumstances and has dealt only with the individual who paid for the upgrade! What about my complaint? It was my Birthday weekend and my booking after all! Needless to say, I won't be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
775 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,326 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blythswood Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blythswood Square

Address: 11 Blythswood Square, Glasgow G2 4AD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $164 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blythswood Square 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blythswood Square is more than a hotel and is an exciting addition to Glasgow's city centre. Not only does it have 100 stunning guest rooms but it also houses an amazing spa, restaurant, salon bar and private event areas, a true 5 star proposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blythswood Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythswood Square Hotel Glasgow
Blythswood Square Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing