We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party - What a Cracker!!”
Review of Hummingbird

Hummingbird
Ranked #603 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $10 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Based in a fully converted town house on Glasgow's Bath Street Hummingbird hosts a restaurant & cocktail bar with private rooms & function spaces over 4 floors which are available for all type of occasion from celebrations to conferences, pop-ups to parties. We have a selection of rooms and areas available to hire accommodating all ranges of group sizes. We can provide catering from our authentic Pan-Asian inspired menu, cooked fresh in our kitchen by the incredible Noi & her team. From nibbles to banquets let us know what you have in mind & we'll be happy to arrange something to suit your parties' needs.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Christmas Party - What a Cracker!!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We held our annual Christmas Party in Diskoteka - which is in the basement of the Hummingbird. What a fabulous space. At £35 per head it was good value, it included private use of Diskoteka, a glass of fizz on arrival, buffet, 1 drink voucher (which you could have either, Vodka, Gin and Bacardi with mixer, or Peroni, or any colour of wine)...they were very flexible as my colleague only drinks brandy - they included this as well....nice touch Hummingbird...The buffet food was excellent. Normally the food is where is all falls down at Christmas, not at the Hummingbird. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend Hummingbird for great atmosphere, staff and great spaces throughout. Have used the Posh Room for private event - and again no complaints. I will certainly be back. Just as a teaser, they do 2 for 1 on Cocktails on a Thursday..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiler1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humming B, Manager at Hummingbird, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us, we are delighted by your comments and feedback.

We have free room hire available Tuesday to Friday during January so if you have any other events in the near future keep us in mind!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    68
    32
    33
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst lunch ever”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I actually don't know where to start. It was awful. We have just been for a work team lunch in the Hummingbird and have to say it was the worst lunch experience I have ever had. I wanted to say disappointing but it would be a gross understatement.

Knowing that there were 18 of us we thought we'd give the kitchen a break by per-ordering...THREE DAYS AGO.

The table was booked for 12:15pm, so there really was no excuse for us all still waiting for our food 45 minutes later (also, we were the ONLY people in the restaurant).

When we eventually started to get served, the food arrived in no particular order (they were still serving sides when most people had finished their mains and other people were leaving because we only had an hour for lunch).

Someones burger was put down in front of the wrong person, who cut it in half then realised it wasn't theirs, so the server turned around and offered the butchered burger to the person who actually ordered it (who had to accept for fear of starvation).

I also have no idea why the server started to deliver Ketchup and Mayonnaise to our tables at twenty-past one, when we'd been there for over an hour and almost everyone had finished eating. Very strange.

The burgers when they arrived were OK but generally the food really was hit or miss... myself and one other I felt slightly misled by the promise of "chilli" on the menu, it really should have just been called "rice", as the chilli was definitely the underdog of that dish.

I wouldn't like to think what would have happened if 18 of us had just turned up unannounced and was surprised to see a sign at the front door when I left saying they were too busy to take any more tables for lunch - we were the only people there and there were only 2 tables in use.

Unorganised chaos at the very best. The service really could have made up for the kitchens incompetence, but unfortunately all of the many staff were too busy setting Christmas tables and never once apologised for the length of time it took to get served (or not served).

On the plus side - the cocktails were cheap, and very well made!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank euanclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humming B, General Manager at Hummingbird, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Euan
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. At Hummingbird, providing unique and excellent customer service is what we strive for, however, on this occasion it seems that we have failed to do so. I cannot apologise enough for the service that you received and I will be in touch to discuss your experience further.
Kind Regards, HB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Total Disgrace”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I arrange a team lunch for 18 people, pre booked and pre ordered on the 3rd of December, phoned this morning to confirm booking and order would be ready for our arrival and food served at 12.15, arrived at 12.05, food came at 13.15, wrong orders people had finished before before other food had arrived, as we were walking out they were bringing more side dishes, not even as much as an apology.
One member of staff was serving us , the restaurant had no other guests apart from us and the rest of the staff (abouve 5 of them) were too busy laying table for non existant guest,

The food - AWFUL, COLD, LATE, WRONG

Never Again, such a shame as the tip would have probaby been over £50 easily if they had met otr needs

MASSIVE FAIL

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonScotland33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humming B, General Manager at Hummingbird, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Sharon,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Hummingbird. Firstly I would like to express me sincerest apologies for the service that you and your team received. I would like to reassure you that providing excellent customer care and service is very important to us and as a result of your review I have already spoken with the kitchen and management team on shift at the time. The team were preparing for a very large Xmas booking at the time however this is absolutely no excuse for the time that you had to wait for your food given that you pre-ordered to make it easier for us. We value your custom greatly and I hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting again.
Kind Regards, HB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap cocktail and burgers”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went here a few months ago on a thursday. Cocktails were all half price and so unusual but tasty, burgers were 2 for 1 so worked out cheap also. Nice atmosphere inside, would recommend if on a budget. Only downside is menu is quite limited

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humming B, General Manager at Hummingbird, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hey there,
Thank you so much for the great review! Glad to hear you enjoyed our cocktails! They're such great value and even greater at 1/2 price! Our menu can be a bit limited but you know where to come if you feel like a burger! Hopefully see you again soon! HB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great decor, location and drink selection”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great night out at Hummingbird. Funky decor, quirky/friendly staff and a brilliant selection of wines, cocktails and other drinks with choice of different levels/seating areas depending on your mood. Food was good bar food, would recommend and go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin7629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humming B, General Manager at Hummingbird, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hey there,
Thanks for taking the time to write about us.
I'm so happy that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for recommending and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummingbird also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Hummingbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing