We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Focaccia!!”
Review of North Star

North Star
Ranked #255 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: North star is a little cafe bistro, we offer you a good selection of breakfast lunch, sandwiches,panini and also special dishes every day. We are making everything fresh by order ,we also have a good selection of home made cakes and scones. North star is the perfect place to have your breakfast,lunch or coffee break!!!!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Focaccia!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I like North Star in generally, because the food is very tasty and you always have healthy choices even from the Specials of the day. The staff is very friendly, they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
But now I am writing because of a new experience: the other day I tried Maurizio's focaccia, which is just amazing, the best focaccia I have ever tasted! And I am a big fan of italian cousine. It is not on the menu, so you have to pre order, but it is worth to do so, because it is probably the best one in Scotland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    23
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favourite coffee in Scotland!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have found my favourite coffee in North Star, and I simply just love the place!The lovely couple, Ester and Maurizio are doing very good job to feel yourself relaxed and comfortable while you take a coffee and eat something from the fantastic menu.
They have real quality food on the menu (often from Italy) + magic what Maurizio/Massimo, the chefs do in the kitchen + very friendly staff, which all in all means happy and delighted guests, like me... :-)))
The place is close to Byres Road and the Botanic Gardens at Queen Margaret Drive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 186534Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food by a wonderful couple”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is my local cafe and it is fabulous. They are so welcoming and genuinly lovely, plus the food is awesome and coffee delicious. Try the Spanish stew or the french toast - yummy. Oh and they do gluten-free bread so lots more choices for coeliacs liek myself!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmacd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“buon appetit”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a welcoming place. Just the right size for comfort and coziness. The proprietors Ester and Marizio are delightful Mine Hosts. The quality and choice of food is outstanding.
The cafe is full of Love and Light. Do visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mangetout-1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I recently was lucky enough to have been invited to a private dinner party at North Star. It was superb - great ingredients authentically cooked. The small, friendly team behind the cafe worked tirelessly to give us a great night - and it is the same if you go in during the day. A lovely spot!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank misscheekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Star also viewed

 

Been to North Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing